Data and statistics play a crucial role in Social Science research. This page lists some of the major sets of data available, by region covered. In addition there are also some Chinese language statistical databases.
Data and Statistics
SOAS Library subscribes to a number of databases, such as DataStream and UK Data Service- which provides IMF data, International Energy Agency data, International Social Survey and OECD data.
There are also many free sources of statistics on the web
Africa Open Data
Aims to be largest repository of Data on the Africa Continent.
Guardian Data Store
A directory of useful data sets that can be used to build applications.
The SESRIC BASEIND
Provides data on 266 socio-economic variables under 18 categories for the 57 OIC Member Countries dating back to 1970.
Global Open Data Index
Assesses the state of open data around the world, based on peer-reviewed submissions by a global community of open data advocates and experts.
OffStats
Maintained by the University of Auckland Library, this database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web.
UN Data
Search UN statistical databases through a single entry point
Bank of England
The Bank compiles and publishes a range of monetary and financial statistics. These Include domestic banking statistics, external finance statistics and international banking statistics.
World Trade Organisation (WTO) International Trade and Tariff Data
Extensive access to trade and tariff data.
IMD World Competitiveness
The most comprehensive database on the competitiveness of nations. It includes 18-year time series from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook.
British Library Business and IP Centre
A wide range of resources are available from onsite at the British Library.
List of National Statistics Offices
UN List of National Statistics Offices
Zanran
A search engine for data and statistics that focuses primarily on finding data presented in numerical or tabular form.
Quandl
A freely available index of over 7 million time-series datasets, which pulls together its data from over 400 freely available sources.
American Economic Association: Data resources for Economists
Wide range of resources- just keep scrolling down for the relevant ones!
BREAD The Bureau for Research and Economic Analysis of Development
Vizala
Is an online database that is completely free and open. It would be the only site on the list that combines economics, market research, demographic, and industry data from many different sources and organizes the data for specific areas of interest. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.