Most of the journals that SOAS library subscribes to are available electronically in databases such as EBSCOhost, JSTOR, Wiley, Science Direct, and Project Muse. However, we still subscribe to a number of journals in print, which can be found on Level E of the library. The best way to search for them all in by using the SOAS library catalogue.
Below is a list of some popular journal titles in the field of Finance and Management that SOAS library subscribes to. You can find many more by searching in our library catalogue. (Scroll down for information on non-English journals.)
Econometrica
Available online via EBSCOhost, JSTOR and Wiley, 1933 - 1 year ago: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/35705710
Finance Research Letters
Available online via Science Direct (Elsevier), 2004 - present: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/52180748
International Review of Financial Analysis
Available online via EBSCOhost, and Elsevier, 1992 - present: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/222772963
Journal of Applied Econometrics
Available online via JSTOR and Wiley, 1986 - 6 years ago: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/41614834
Journal of Banking and Finance
Available online via ScienceDirect (Elsevier), 1977 - present: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1086405344
Journal of Corporate Finance
Available online via ScienceDirect (Elsevier), 1994 - present: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/38934041
Journal of Economic Surveys
Available online via EBSCOhost and Wiley, 1987 - 1 year ago: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/37447089
Journal of Emerging Market Finance
Available online via Sage Journals, 2002 - present: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/60626807
The Journal of Finance
Available online via JSTOR, 1946 - 4 years ago: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/50078624
The Journal of Financial Economics
Available online via Science Direct (Elsevier), 2005 - present https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1780979
Journal of Macromolecular Science
Available online via EBSCOhost, 1992 - present: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/610589858
Journal of Money, Credit and Banking
Available online via JSTOR, Wiley, JISC and EBSCOhost, 1969 - 2019: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/47447167
Oxford Bulletin of Economics and Statistics
Available online via EBSCOhost and Wiley, 1973 - 1 year ago: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/39080983
Review of Finance
Available online via EBSCOhost, Oxford University Press Journals Online, 1997 - present: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1008628796
Review of Financial Studies
Available online via Oxford University Press Journals Online, 1988 - present: https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/40777420
--------
Not what you are looking for? Explore more journals in the SOAS library catalogue.
Senate House Library also offers journals, such as:
International Journal of Financial Studies (2013- ): https://encore.libraries.london.ac.uk/iii/encore/record/C__Rb3560523?suite=shl
The following links are for recommended databases that contain full text and/or citations for journal articles, especially in the subjects of finance and management. If the full text isn't available on the database you search in, you should always try searching for article/journal titles in SOAS Library Catalogue, as the journal might be available via a different database.
EBSCOhost
Access to over 10,000 e-journals on a wide range of subjects. Includes specialist databases for business & economics, media, languages and social sciences. Within EBSCOhost, you can search a single database, such as Business Source Premier and EconLit, or search in all of them at the same time.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
Business Source Premier (via EBSCOhost)
Access to over 2,000 journals covering business, marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. BSP also contains detailed company profiles for the world’s 10,000 largest companies. This includes SWOT analysis, in addition to company history and key employee information- perfect for finding company case studies.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
EconLit (via EBSCOhost)
EconLit (Economic Literature Index) is an index of journal articles, books, dissertations and conference papers, relating to economics. Plus full text for more than 500 journals.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
JSTOR
JSTOR offers full-text archive collections from over 1000 academic journals of various disciplines including Economics and Business. Note that there is a Moving Wall embargo, which means that recent articles of the last 3-5 years are usually not available.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
Oxford Journals Online
Access to a range of journals, with bibliographic information and abstracts. Also provides full-text access, free of charge, where SOAS subscribes to the journal.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
Sage Journals Online
Access to over 400 journals, with bibliographic information and abstracts. Also provides full-text access, free of charge, where SOAS subscribes to the journal.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
ScienceDirect
Access to a small number of e-journals, mostly relating to development and economics.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
Wiley Online Library
Access to over 500 social science and humanities journals.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
Not what you are looking for? Explore the full range of databases via the A-Z list.
In theory, all journals that SOAS subscribes to should be searchable via the SOAS library catalogue. However, it isn't always the case, especially for journals in other languages. For further guidance, refer to the LibGuides below:
Databases for research on Africa (Africa LibGuide)
Databases for Middle East and Central Asia (Middle East and Central Asia LibGuide)
Databases for South Asian Studies (South Asia LibGuide)
Databases for research on South East Asia (South East Asia LibGuide)
Japanese Studies Databases (Japan Studies LibGuide)
Databases for finding Korean Journal Articles (Korean Studies LibGuide)
Databases for finding Chinese Journal Articles (China & Inner Asia LibGuide)
African Economic History Available in print (Lee Per 69 / 358535) and electronically on Project Muse database: https://muse.jhu.edu/journal/482
African Economic History was founded in 1974 by the African Studies Program at the University of Wisconsin and subsequently has also been associated with the Harriet Tubman Institute for Research on Africa and its Diasporas, York University. The journal publishes scholarly essays in English and French on economic history of African societies from precolonial times to the present. It features research in a variety of fields and time periods, including studies on labor; slavery; trade and commercial networks; economic transformations; colonialism; migration; development policies; social and economic inequalities and poverty. The audience includes historians, economists, anthropologists, sociologists, political scientists, policymakers, and a range of other scholars interested in the African present and past.
Asian Economic Policy Review Available online via EBSCOhost and Wiley
The goal of the Asian Economic Policy Review is to become an intellectual voice on the current issues of international economics and economic policy, based on comprehensive and in-depth analyses, with a primary focus on Asia. As such, articles in the Journal will not be purely academic research or political commentaries. Instead, stress will be placed on identifying key issues at the time - spanning international trade, international finance, the environment, energy, the integration of regional economies and other issues - in order to furnish ideas and proposals to contribute positively to the policy debate in the region. Although the principal focus is economic policy issues, when necessary and relevant, international relations papers will also be included.
Indian Economic Journal Available in print (Lee Per 61 /171573) and electronically on SAGE database: https://journals.sagepub.com/home/IEJ
The Indian Economic Journal (IEJ) is a quarterly journal published by the Indian Economic Association since 1946. It provides economists and academicians an exclusive forum for publishing their work pertaining to theoretical understanding of economics as well as empirical policy analysis of economic issues in broader context. The journal covers all the areas of economic sciences globally.
Malaysian Journal of Economic Studies Open access: https://mjes.um.edu.my/
mees Available in print (Lee Per 67 / 331085)
Since 1957 MEES has been publishing an industry-leading weekly analysis of the region’s oil and gas developments. Home to the world’s largest and lowest cost oil and gas reserves, the Middle East and North Africa is a region of strong possibilities, but one fraught with pitfalls. Published by Middle East Petroleum and Economic publications (Cyprus) Ltd. Find out more on their website: https://www.mees.com/ (SOAS Library is not subscribed to the online magazine)