Access to key financial data for both developed and emerging markets; statistics on equities and equity indices, company fundamentals, bonds, international macro data, interest and exchange rates, commodities and derivatives; a comprehensive time-series of up to 50 years for 175 countries and 60 markets; in total more than 255 mil time series data.
Provides in-depth macroeconomic and industry analysis for 200 global markets. Can be used to access credit ratings, credit research, global fundamental data, country and industry research, macroeconomic and industry data. Data and reports are available for entities from around the world, with the option to create and download portfolios based on your research interests. Also provides the most comprehensive bank financial data sets available in the market with up to 30 years’ worth of historical data on over 30,000 banks worldwide.
Japanese news and business information databse, containing Nihon Keizai Shinbun『日本経済新聞』 since 1876. company profiles and financial information, and personnel information. It also holds Nikkei English News and Nikkei Asian Review from Special Contents 「スペシャルコンテンツ」.
The trial finished in June 2024. Please leave feedback. Do you want SOAS Library to subscribe to Statista? Please let us know why! Statista feedback form
Upcoming Trial: Orbis (Monday 23rd of September until Sunday 6th of October)
Please email yw25@soas.ac.uk if you are interested in trialling the database. Limited places available.
Pre-trial training will be held on 19th September.
Below you'll find information on the databases you can access via SOAS because the library subscribes to them.
Please let us know what you think of the collection. We're always looking for feedback.Thanks!
Eikon
Eikon is a financial database with real time market news, equities, company fundamentals, unit and investment trusts, equity indices, bonds, macroeconomic data, commodities, interest and exchange rates, derivatives.
Access [booking needed] Available for SOAS staff and students only.
Please e-mail libenquiry@soas.ac.uk, specifying the date(s) and time(s) you require access. Up to 4 hours per session. (You can make multiple bookings in one email if you wish). You will be sent login and access instructions in the confirmation email.
Eikon is accessible remotely. The web access version works on both Mac and Windows. Should you require Datastream (not available with the web version) but don't have a Windows PC, you can use the Eikon designated PC in the library (Level E).
BMI (formerly Fitch Connect)
Fitch Connect is a multi-module financial and economic database. It contains Macroeconomic Data, Banks Fundamental Financial Data, and some Ratings Data. The Country Risk & Industry Research module contains over 150 country risk reports including analysis and forecasting while the Industry Research contains over 1,500 reports on 22 industries. Also includes the Infrastructure Key Projects Database with data, metrics, and analytics on over 35,000 infrastructure and construction projects.
Access [on-site / off-site]
On the sign-in page, click on the 'SSO' (Single Sign-On) option, and enter 'SOAS' as the organization ID.
If you are having issues with SSO (such as, "Single Sign-on is currently unavailable. Please try again later"), please email electronic@soas.ac.uk
Financial Times (FT) ft.com/markets
In addition to news analysis, the Financial Times website provides access to a range of markets and industries data, as well as statistics related to other areas.
Access When prompted, use Single Sign-On option.
CSMAR (China Stock Market & Accounting Research)
A comprehensive research-oriented database focusing on China Finance and Economy. CSMAR was developed by Shenzhen CSMAR Data Technology Co., Ltd based on academic research needs, meeting with the international professional standards while adapting to China’s features. Through selection of date range, company code and data fields from 4000+tables, specific data can be obtained and exported in Excel, TXT etc.
Access to the China Stock Market Series and the China Listed Firms Research Series available in English, and both traditional or simplified Chinese.
Access [On-campus] / [Off-campus] Available to SOAS staff & students only.
How to Use
LibGuide by XJTLU Library (Note that access methods may differ from SOAS')
Nikkei Telecom 21
Nikkei Telecom21 (Academic Package) is a group of comprehensive business database services offered by Nihon Keizai Shimbun (日本経済新聞, Japanese Economic Newspaper). It contains Japanese news and business information from Nihon Keizai Shinbun since 1876, company profiles and financial information, and personnel information. Nikkei English News and Nikkei Asian Review from Special Contents (スペシャルコンテンツ)
Access [On-campus] / [Off-campus]