Long waiting list for an essential textbook? Email your subject librarian for more copies.
Have a book recommendation for the library? Fill in this form.
Finance and Management at SOAS Library
Welcome to the Finance and Management Subject Guide, a vital resource for those engaged in the study and practice of finance and management in a global context. The library supports research and learning with a particular focus on regions such as Africa, Asia, and the Middle East, reflecting the global perspective of the School of Finance and Management at SOAS.
The library’s finance and management collection supports those interested in policy development, business leadership, and cutting-edge research, offering access to game-changing ideas and resources for professional growth. Whether you are an undergraduate, postgraduate, on-campus or online distance learner, or visiting SOAS from another institution, the library is here to provide the knowledge and tools you need to drive innovation, enhance your global perspective.
Please note that some of the materials covered in this guide do not belong to SOAS library but are available for free online, or SOAS members have access to it through other memberships such as SCONUL, Senate House Library or the British Library.
If you need guidance or tailored support, don’t hesitate to reach out to your subject librarian, who is available to help you make the most of the resources.
News and Updates
The database contains financial (and other) news reports focusing on Japan, China, Southeast Asia and India, with a local perspective. Some articles are translated into English from Nikkei (Japanese financial newspaper). Most articles are written by journalists reporting locally, and includes ones written in regionally language then translated into English. The resource is also good for reading about events in the West from an Asian perspective.
To access, sign up for a SOAS trial account using this link:
https://asia.nikkei.com/?contractId=TM8520ICN9FS (Please ensure you use your @soas.ac.uk email. Personal emails will not be accepted.)
Trial ends 28 November
Please send feedback about the database by 18 November. Please use this form https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=odBNZ2Kux0Kjn2nuGZU3qOo6jHfX6gtMmTp9AF-35LlUQk9KRUJZTTU0MkxPOUJFR1Q4RTFPS1FLQS4u or email yw25@soas.ac.uk Thank you.
The library currently has trial access to eJournal content on Emerald Insight. The database contains over 300 journals in 13 subject specific collections, including Accounting, Finance & Economics, Business, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Public Policy & Environmental Management, Tourism & Hospitality Management. More information: eJournals Premier | Emerald Publishing
To access, go to https://www.emerald.com/insight/ and click the login button on the top right corner. Choose 'access through your institution'. If it is not already set to SOAS, click 'add or change institution' and type 'School of Oriental and African Studies'.
Trial ends 29 November
Please send feedback about the database by 18 November. Please use this form https://forms.office.com/e/d8e4ZfKrzh or email yw25@soas.ac.uk Thank you.
Business and society: stakeholders, ethics, public policy (17th ed) by 
Project Management by
Dennis Lock's masterly exposition of the principles and practice of project management has been pre-eminent in its field for 45 years.The Tenth Edition of Project Management explains the entire project management process in great detail, and includes brand new chapters on implementing management change projects and the role of senior management support. Everything is reinforced throughout with case examples and diagrams, many new for this edition. As with previous editions, meticulous care has been taken to ensure that the text is reader-friendly and free of unnecessary jargon, with clear diagrams and a construction that is logically organized, well indexed and simple to navigate. The result is certain to maintain this book's acclaimed status as the standard work for managers and students alike.
