Open Data
There are a wide range of free sources of statistics on the web, including:
Alpha Vantage: Quantitative Stock API
Alpha Vantage is a financial data provider offering APIs (Application Programming Interfaces) for accessing historical and real-time financial market data. It provides a wide range of data, including stock prices, cryptocurrencies, forex (foreign exchange), technical indicators, and fundamental data.
Programmatic access to UK, European, US, and other global capital markets, covering 20+ years of historical data for stocks, mutual funds, economic indicators, and foreign exchange rates. Frequently used for quantitative finance and/or machine learning research (see data guide with sample Python code).
WallStreetMojo is an educational resource for finance and accounting. They provide some free courses on topics such as Finance, Accounting, Excel, VBA, Financial Modelling, and Ratio Analysis.
Statista - Glossary of Statistical Terms
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. They provide definitions of statistical terms to aid with data comprehension and analysis.
The UK Historical Data repository has been developed jointly by the Bank of England, ESCoE and the Office for National Statistics. Via a new free-to-access online repository, the project aims to make historical economic statistics more readily available to researchers, students and the general public. The repository’s focus is on macroeconomic and financial market data, and includes a range of economic data disaggregated at a sector, industry and regional level. The site contains digital collections of many of the key official statistical publications produced since the C19th which were digitised specifically for this project. It now contains around 4,000 digitised statistical publications and will continue to grow.
A directory of useful data sets that can be used to build applications.
UN Data
Search UN statistical databases through a single entry point. UNdata was launched as part of a project in 2005, called "Statistics as a Public Good", whose objectives was to provide free access to global statistics, to educate users about the importance of statistics for evidence-based policy and decision-making and to assist National Statistical Offices of Member Countries to strengthen their data dissemination capabilities.
List of National Statistics Offices
The United Nations Statistics Division, in its mission to promote the development of national statistical systems, has developed a central repository of country profiles of statistical systems. The country profiles include, among others, a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical programme and much more.
A search engine for data and statistics that focuses primarily on finding data presented in numerical or tabular form.
Quandl (Nasdaq)
A freely available index of over 7 million time-series datasets, which pulls together its data from over 400 freely available sources.
BREAD (The Bureau for Research and Economic Analysis of Development)
Information about data for development research. There has been a spectacular increase in the availability and quality of data from developing countries in recent years. Many of these datasets are either in the public domain or can be obtained at modest cost from the data collection agency. This page is intended as a resource to help locate those data. The International Household Survey Network provides links to documentation to many of these and other data. Some of the data are available at ICPSR, the World Bank Microdata Catalog and the Harvard Dataverse Network which houses data produced by JPAL. BREAD provides links to some of the data that are on-line and explanations of how to obtain others.
The Cingranelli-Richards (CIRI) Human Rights Dataset contains standards-based quantitative information on government respect for 15 internationally recognised human rights for 202 countries, annually from 1981-2011. It is designed for use by scholars and students who seek to test theories about the causes and consequences of human rights violations, as well as policy makers and analysts who seek to estimate the human rights effects of a wide variety of institutional changes and public policies including democratization, economic aid, military aid, structural adjustment, and humanitarian intervention.
The data set contains measures of government human rights practices, not human rights policies or overall human rights conditions (which may be affected by non-state actors).
The AfDB (African Development Bank) Statistical Data Portal has been developed in response to the increasing demand for statistical data and indicators relating to African Countries. The Portal provides multiple customized tools to gather indicators, analyse them, and export them into multiple formats.
Find, access and reuse data. DataCite is an international organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data. Its mission is to support the citation, discovery, and reuse of research data by enabling organisations to assign DOIs to datasets and other research outputs.
Registry of Research Data Repositories
The most comprehensive source of reference for research data infrastructures globally
Web-based interface designed for academic research data management and research data dissemination.
Energy data, focus on Saudi Arabia, GCC, India, China and East Africa regions. KAPSARC (King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Centre) is a non-profit institution located in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, dedicated to conducting independent research on energy economics, policy, and technology.
Kaggle provides free courses on skills you'll need to do independent data science projects, as well as 293K high-quality public datasets on everything from avocado prices to video game sales.
Datasets is not just a simple data repository. Each dataset is a community where you can discuss data, discover public code and techniques, and create your own projects in Notebooks. You can find many different interesting datasets of all shapes and sizes if you take the time to look around and find them!
Tutorial: Getting Started on Kaggle | Kaggle - YouTube
Listing 2600+ Open Data Portals Around the World. Founded in 2011, Opendatasoft provides a powerful all-in-one platform for everyone to rapidly build and spread compelling data experiences.
Another database listing different data portals across the globe, first launched at OKCon 2011 in Berlin. It is curated by a group of leading open data experts from around the world - including representatives from local, regional and national governments, international organisations such as the World Bank, and numerous NGOs. The service is run by Open Knowledge Foundation (OKFN).
KD (Knowledge Discovery) Nuggets is a site on Data Science, Machine Learning, AI and Analytics. They provide a wide range of good links to datasets.
Amazon hosted datasets. When data is shared on AWS, anyone can analyse it and build services on top of it using a broad range of compute and data analytics products, including Amazon EC2, Amazon Athena, AWS Lambda, and Amazon EMR. Sharing data in the cloud lets data users spend more time on data analysis rather than data acquisition.
Open Data Inception
Amazon Web Services