Economics

Regions:

• • Africa Subject Guide
  • Middle East and Central Asia Subject Guide (for North Africa & Egypt)

SOAS Databases:

Africa Bibliography [On-campus] [Off-campus]
This is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984.

Africa Wide-NiPAD [On-campus] [Off-campus]
Provides single point access to over 40 databases. Records come from books, periodical articles and pamphlets. Databases included are:

• • IBISCUS (1970 to present) a development database on francophone Africa.
  • The Southern African Database (Sardius) (1961-1997) database of 34,000+ annotated records.
  • Index to South African Periodicals (1987-present) covers more than 440 South African periodicals.

AllAfrica.com [On-campus] ] [Off-campus]
Contains an Africa related news archive; with content from over 100 media organizations.

General resources:

• • AEGIS - African Studies in Europe
    AEGIS is a research network of European African studies centres, and aims to facilitate dialogue between all those with an interest in Africa.
  • Africa Open Data
    Aims to be largest repository of Data on the Africa Continent.
  • African Studies Association (ASA)
    Brings together scholars and professionals with an interest in Africa and also provides information to the Africanist community.
  • Mo Ibrahim Foundation 
    Considers governance and leadership in Africa and includes the Ibrahim Index of African Governance which provides an annual assessment of governance performance in Africa. 
  • Centre for the Study of African Economies, University of Oxford
    Access to full text working papers and reports and information on the work and other publications of the Centre.
  • Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
    Information about the organisation, its activities and its publications.
  • Southern African Development Community (SADC)
    Information about the organisation with online news and reports.
  • United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) Information on African development, with selected full text publications.
  • World Bank in Africa
    This organization is crucial to developing regional economic initiatives, projects and programmes in Africa.

News resources:

• • Business Times: Business news from Tanzania in Swahili and English.
  • Business Day: Business daily from Johannesburg. Archives available for previous two years.
  • Financial Gazette: Finance and business daily from Zimbabwe. Archives available from 1998.
  • Islamic Finance Information Service: news, research and online data service on the Shariah-compliant finance industry. A subscription is required to access some information.
  • Namibia Economist: Weekly business newspaper from Namibia, English Language. Back issues for current year only.