Access to key financial data for both developed and emerging markets; statistics on equities and equity indices, company fundamentals, bonds, international macro data, interest and exchange rates, commodities and derivatives.
Provides in-depth macroeconomic and industry analysis for 200 global markets. Can be used to access credit ratings, credit research, global fundamental data, country and industry research, macroeconomic and industry data.
Full, unlimited access to FT.com through desktop and mobile devices, with 60% more content than the print newspaper, and access to the FT online archive.
Eikon is the largest and most renowned historical financial database with more than 255 million time series data. Information includes:
Real time market data news
Equities – over 100,000 active equities (plus another 100,000 inactive) for 100 developed and emerging markets, and with over 200 fields
Company Fundamentals – fundamental data and financial ratios for all developed and many emerging markets, across 79 markets
Unit and Investment Trusts – unit trust coverage for 11 countries, including the top five European Funds Markets – complete coverage of UK Investment Trusts
Equity Indices –over 280,000 indices with extensive coverage of market indices for 68 countries; Equity index and constituent data for major index suppliers (such as MSCI, FTSE, S&P); Global Equity Indices span over 30 years of daily frequency covering 55 markets; also coverage of third party bond indices (such as JP Morgan, Citygroup, Barclays Capital)
Bonds – over 230,000 active bonds, 220,000 warrants, certificates and convertibles, and 500,000 fixed income securities
Macroeconomic Data – nationally sourced indicators for 118 markets and another 130 with comparable data from international sources (e.g. Eurostat, IMF, OECD)
Commodities – more than 77,000 live spot prices, including agricultural, energy and metal prices
Interest and Exchange Rates
Derivatives – excellent futures coverage across 34 countries, with history as back as 1976; options database covers 2,000 active contracts for over 490,000 live series
Dates covered
Dates vary by data category and country/market - starting from as far back as 1950s for major economies - annual, monthly, weekly or daily (when available) frequency - Updated continuously
Download/e-mail/print
Data can be downloaded easily using the Advance for Office (AFO) Add-in in Excel
Access Available for SOAS staff and students only. Access is available on-campus and off-site. There is a computer on Level E (ground floor) in the Library which is dedicated to Eikon, but you can also access from any/your computer.
You have the option to download Eikon to your device (Windows PC only) or use the online web access version. Datastream is only available if you download Eikon.
Booking is required - Please e-mail libenquiry@soas.ac.uk, specifying the date(s) and time(s) you require access. Up to 4 hours per session. (You can make multiple bookings in one email if you wish). You will be sent login and access instructions in the confirmation email.
DONT FORGET TO SIGN OUT at the end of your session.
ESG scores from Refinitiv are designed to transparently and objectively measure a company's relative ESG performance, commitment and effectiveness across 10 main themes (emissions, environmental product innovation, human rights, shareholders, etc.) based on publicly-reported data.
Refinitiv ESG scores reflect the underlying ESG data framework and are a transparent, data-driven assessment of companies’ relative ESG performance and capacity, integrating and accounting for industry materiality and company size biases.
The Refinitiv ESG score measures the company’s ESG performance based on verifiable reported data in the public domain. It captures and calculates over 630 company-level ESG measures, of which a subset of 186 of the most comparable and material per industry power the overall company assessment and scoring process.
The underlying measures are based on considerations around comparability, impact, data availability and industry relevance that varies across each industry group.
These are grouped into 10 categories that form the three pillar scores and the final ESG score, which is a reflection of the company’s ESG performance, commitment and effectiveness based on publicly reported information.
The category scores are rolled up into three pillar scores – environmental, social and corporate governance. ESG pillar score is a relative sum of the category weights which vary per industry for the 'Environmental' and 'Social' categories. For 'Governance', the weights remain the same across all industries.
ESG Data Analysis Made Easy / ESG Scoring Profile (Dr Searat Ali)
Screener is a useful too to download data from multiple companies at the same time. (If you only need 1 company, it's better to go to the company page > Financials > Balance sheet, and download the data from there.)
To open Screener, from the icon on the top left corner, Add Library, search 'Screener'.
Open Screener
Select Filters
Go to Data Item Library and add the relevant data
Note that if you click 'add', it will add the most recent data. To get past data, in Parameters, tick Series, and set the time series, 3 FY (3 Fiscal Years), etc. Then click add.
Exporting Data (Datastream needed)
Excel icon is on top right corner: 'Export All as Values'
Extract Accounting Data from Thompson-Reuters Eikon (Screener) (Dr Scarpin)
Find Your Right Companies with SCREENER | Eikon Data APIs (Python) | Devportal (lseg.com)
Refinitiv Datastream is an analytical data source that enables detailed exploration of relationships between data series. Perform correlation and relationship analysis, test investment and trading ideas, and research countries, regions and industries – with time series available from the 1900s onwards
To use Datastream, you will need to download Eikon to a Windows PC. Please note that it does not work on Mac.
You will also need to install Datastream on your Windows PC. For instructions, watch Eikon Essentials: Accessing Datastream via Excel (Cambridge Judge Business School). The designated Eikon PC in the library already has Datastream installed.
How to make a time series request on Datastream
Eikon Essentials: Using Datastream (Cambridge Judge Business School)
Create your account using your SOAS email address.
Provides in-depth macroeconomic and industry analysis for 200 global markets. Can be used to access credit ratings, credit research, global fundamental data, country and industry research, macroeconomic and industry data. Data and reports are available for entities from around the world, with the option to create and download portfolios based on your research interests. Also provides the most comprehensive bank financial data sets available in the market with up to 30 years’ worth of historical data on over 30,000 banks worldwide.
'Sourcing Industry and Economic Data in BMI' Cranfield University (16 May, 2024)
In addition to its country and industry reports, BMI Research (formerly FitchConnect) includes a huge data bank of macroeconomic and industry data, available for download and manipulation. This blog posts demonstrates how to chart the nominal GDP per capita for the last ten years plus five years of forecasts for the MINT countries: Mexico, Indonesia, Nigeria and Turkiye (Turkey).
Economic / Financial / Company Data and News & Reports
|
Title |
Description |
Links |
||
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Eikon (including Datastream) |
Access Available for SOAS staff and students only. Access is available on-campus and off-site. There is a computer on Level E (ground floor) in the Library which is dedicated to Eikon, but you can also access from any/your computer. You have the option to download Eikon to your device (Windows PC only) or use the online web access version. Datastream is only available if you download Eikon. Booking is required - Please e-mail libenquiry@soas.ac.uk, specifying the date(s) and time(s) you require access. Up to 4 hours per session. (You can make multiple bookings in one email if you wish). You will be sent login and access instructions in the confirmation email. DONT FORGET TO SIGN OUT at the end of your session. About
Dates covered Download/e-mail/print |
|
||
|
|
||||
|
Fitch Connect |
Access On the sign-in page, click on the 'SSO' (Single Sign-On) option, and enter 'SOAS' as the organization ID.
About |
|
||
|
FT.com (Financial Times) |
Access Click on the On-campus or Off-campus link. If you are on-campus, you will be automatically taken to the website. If off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your SOAS ID and password. About |
|
||
|
GTA China (CSMAR) |
Access Available to SOAS staff and students only, with log in on & off campus.
About Access to the China Stock Market Series and the China Listed Firms Research Series available in English, and both traditional or simplified Chinese. GTA is a leading global provider of China financial market data, China industries and economic data. The Stock Market Data includes end-of-day prices, volume and computed comparable prices of all A shares and B shares companies listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange and the Shenzhen Stock Exchange from 1990 to present. China Corporate Research Series provide detailed information on listed companies’ finance and behaviour. Data mainly derive from periodic and ad-hoc announcements from listed companies, including financial statements, financial ratios management information, shareholder information, corporate behaviour and analyst forecasts.
Content Provincial macroeconomic research database contains data of 14 fields, which are GDP, population, employment and wage, fixed assets investment, resident income & consumption, finance, price index, environment, domestic trade, foreign trade, agriculture, industry, construction industry, transportation and post & telecommunication, and tourism. Annual urban economic research database includes data of 11 fields, which are GDP, population, employment and wage, fixed assets investment & consumption, financial income & expenses, foreign investment, agriculture, industry, traffic, and post & telecommunication. The data files in this database are as follows:
|
|||
|
Nikkei Telecom 21 |
Access Any library user from computers on-campus. Only SOAS students and staff can access from off-campus, using their SOAS ID and password. Access is restricted to one user at a time. 6 pm JST to 5 am JST (23 hours a day)
About Nikkei Telecom21 (Academic Package) is a group of comprehensive business database services offered by Nihon Keizai Shimbun (日本経済新聞, Japanese Economic Newspaper). It contains Japanese news and business information from Nihon Keizai Shinbun since 1876, company profiles and financial information, and personnel information. Nikkei English News and Nikkei Asian Review from スペシャルコンテンツ (Special Contents) The service consists of:
Dates covered: Nikkei Japanese news from 1876 to1961 and from 1975 to date. Nikkei English news from 1983 to date. |
|||
|
The Mint Magazine |
Access Please follow the on/off campus link and register your account using your SOAS email address.
About The Mint is the magazine for Promoting Economic Pluralism (PEP), a registered charity set up in 2016 to open up economics education, research and application to a broader range of perspectives. The Mint provides a space for a range of perspectives on understanding economies presented in an engaging and accessible format which is generally absent from journal articles due to the requirements of that format. |
|