Economics

• About the collection

The Library develops and maintains significant collections on Economics relating to the countries of Asia, Africa and the Middle East. The material is in European, Asian and African languages. Material on Economics outside Asia and Africa and general works on Economics are acquired where they are needed to support teaching.

We welcome suggestions for new purchases from Library members. Please complete the recommendation form.

• What is in the collection?
  • Books on Economics, alongside specific works focusing on Asia, Africa and the Middle East in Western and vernacular languages.
  • Extensive collection of journals in both print and electronic format. (Classmarks range between Per 100 and Per 109) Check the SOAS Library catalogue for more information.
  • Newspapers from Africa, Asia and the Middle East in print and electronic media.
  • Databases containing qualitative and quantitative information, including statistics and financial data.
• Location

The Economics collection can be found on Level E between stacks 21-31. Classmarks range between A330-A339. Oversized books are shelved at the end of the collection at LA330-LA339. There is also a small collection of reference works on Level E.

Works focusing on a specific country or region are shelved in the respective regional collection (e.g. books on Japanese economic policy will be located in the Japan section of the library). They will have a different letter code to indicate this.

• Print collection

The Library holds a wide range of material on economics relating to the regions and individual countries of Asia, Africa and the Middle East as well as theoretical and cross-regional aspects. The collection is particularly strong on economic development, international organisations and political economy.

For details of holdings in related subject areas see the relevant Subject Guides.

• Special Collections

Special collections are held in the Archives & Special Collections, which are housed on Level F of the Library. The following collections may be of particular interest to those studying Economics:

• • Business Collection