- African Newspapers: The British Library Collection Features a collection of newspapers from across the African continent published before 1900. Originally archived by the British Library these titles are fully searchable online. Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students.On-campus / Off-campus
- WNA: African Newspapers, Series I 1800-1922 and WNA: African Newspapers, Series II: 1835-1925 A unique resource which shows the evolution of Africa in the 19th and early 20th centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items. Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students. On-campus / Off-campus
- AllAfrica.com Collects, produces and distributes 2000 news items daily from over 130 African news organizations and their own reporters. Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students.
On-campus / Off-campus
- BBC News World edition: Africa Africa news from the BBC.
- ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers The ICON Database of International Newspapers is a freely accessible electronic resource providing information about newspapers including bibliographic descriptions of titles and information on institutional holdings where available.
- Pambazuka News News,commentary and analysis for social justice in Africa.
- World-Newspapers.com: Africa Provides links to African newspapers and news sites.
The resources listed above relate specifically to Africa but other more general sites (for example Access World News) will also contain Africa related news.
More information about the Library’s news databases can be found at News databases
