Africa

The following resources have been compiled by subject specialists in order to provide links to sites useful for African studies:

• African Business Guide: an Information Resource Index Links to African business and economic information resources.
• African Studies Companion Online SOAS Library subscribes to this database which enables access to over 1800 entries covering guides and resources on Africa. Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students.
• African studies journals Compiled by a number of European libraries this is an alphabetical list of e-journals on African studies with links to the journals where available.
• Penn Libraries: African Studies Provides extensive links to online resources on Africa, searchable by categories.
• Columbia University Libraries: African Studies Provides extensive links to African internet resources, searchable by country or topic

• If you have a specific title you can look it up in the Library catalogue.
• The British Library holds a number of African titles within their newspaper collection.
• You can also widen your search to include other research libraries in the UK and Ireland by using Library Hub Discover.
• Many newspapers are now available online – more details about this can be found in the section Newspapers and news sites online.

SOAS theses

• Some SOAS theses are available online at SOAS Research Online.

Non-SOAS theses 

• ASC Leiden: finding dissertations The African Studies Centre in Leiden has compiled lists of dissertations on Africa recently submitted to Dutch universities. 
• DART-Europe Provides access to theses from 528 universities in 27 European countries.
• EThOS (Electronic Theses Online) EThOS, provided by the British Library, can be searched to see if a thesis has been digitised. If a thesis is not digitised on EThOS you can make a request for a digital copy to be made.  
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global You can access this database via the Senate House Library if you are SOAS staff or student - please register with Senate House Library for membership  - https://senatehouselibrary.libguides.com/remote-registration
• theses.fr theses.fr is a search engine for French doctoral theses. It lists ongoing doctoral theses and awarded theses in France.
• UnisaETD: electronic theses and dissertations Digitised theses and dissertations submitted to the University of South Africa.

• H-Net Discussion Networks H-Net's e-mail lists function as electronic networks linking professors, lecturers, researchers and students worldwide. There are a number of relevant lists for Africa which include: 
• H-AfrArts: African Expressive Culture, H-AfrLitCine: Teaching and Study of African Literature and Cinema,  H-SAfrica, H-West-Africa.

• Try other libraries:
  Within London there are a number of libraries with African material. Please see the section on Libraries and archives for more details.
• You can recommend books for the library to purchase: Online recommendation form. 
• Use the Inter-Library loans service to request books from other Libraries
  Please see Interlibrary Loans for further details.