Africa

Africa (General)

• AEGIS - African Studies in Europe
  AEGIS is a research network of European African studies centres, and aims to facilitate dialogue between all those with an interest in Africa.

• Africa Centre
  The Africa Centre is the centre in London for the culture of Africa and the African diaspora.

• African Development Bank (ADB)
  Includes details on projects and publications and selected statistics (full-text)..

• African Law Association
  Based in Germany, the African Law Association website provides links to documents and research on African legal systems.

• African Gender Institute
  Based at the University of Cape Town the AGI provides extensive information about gender in Africa.

• African Studies Association (ASA)
  Brings together scholars and professionals with an interest in Africa and also provides information to the Africanist community.

• ASTI
  Full-text country briefs and quantitative data from Agricultural Science and Technology Indicators

• Centre for the Study of African Economies (CSAE), University of Oxford
  The CSAE aims to improve economic and social conditions in Africa. Site has full-text working papers and reports.

• Country Indicators for Foreign Policy
  Monitors and evaluates failed and fragile states, and assesses policies intended to address the challenges they represent.

• Directory of development organizations: Volume I: Africa
  Directory of development organizations for Africa. Available via PDF file.

• Electoral Institute for Sustainable Democracy in Africa
  Full-text articles and information on electoral and other relevant issues for the SADC region

• Integrated Regional Information Networks (IRIN)
  Extensive humanitarian news and analysis service

• The Kimberley Process
  The Kimberley Process is a joint government, international diamond industry and civil society initiative to stem the flow of conflict diamonds. Site includes full text documents and links to resources about the diamond industry.

• Mo Ibrahim Foundation 
  Considers governance and leadership in Africa and includes the Ibrahim Index of African Governance which provides an annual assessment of governance performance in Africa.

• ReliefWeb - Africa
  ReliefWeb is a specialized digital service of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs providing reliable disaster and crisis updates and analysis.

• United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
  Information on aspects of African development, including gender. The website hosts a number of publications, including the annual Economic Report on Africa.

• Economic Policy Research Centre 
  The EPRC looks at economic and development policy research and policy analysis. Site includes full text research papers.

• Kenya Human Rights Commission
  NGO promoting human rights and democratic values.

• National Council for Law Reporting - Kenya
  Includes Kenya Law Reports and other legal documents.

• National Museums of Kenya
  This is multi-disciplinary institution collects, preserves and documents Kenya’s past and present cultural and natural heritage. 

• Swahili Forum
  Published since 1994 Swahili Forum is an international peer reviewed journal for Swahili Studies.

• Tanzania National Website
  Government website providing information about Tanzania in both Kiswahili and English.

• Tanzania Online
  Tanzania Online is a gateway to information on development issues in Tanzania.

• Uganda Bureau of Statistics
  The central statistical office in Uganda which collects, analyses and disseminates statistical data.

• Uganda. Parliament
  Parliamentary site. Includes full text of selected issues of Hansard.

• Botswana Institute for Development Policy Analysis (BIDPA) 
  BIDPA is a non-governmental research organization looking at development policy analysis and capacity building. Site includes downloadable publications.

• Digital Imaging Project of South Africa 
  Project has digitised important South African anti-apartheid materials.

• FreeFACTS - South African Institute of Race Relations
  Produces the publication ‘FreeFACTS’ on topical issues. 

• Institute for Poverty, Land and Agrarian Studies (PLAAS)
  PLAAS undertakes research on land and agrarian reform, poverty and natural resource management in South and southern Africa. Includes downloadable reports and publications.

• The Long Walk of Nelson Mandela
  Site contains interviews and biographical material on Nelson Mandela.

• South African History Archive Trust (SAHA)
  Independent archive documenting the struggles for justice in South Africa. Based at the University of the Witwatersrand.

• South Africa History Online (SAHO)
  Extensive website documenting South African history and culture.

• Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  Includes information on the SADC member countries.

• Statistics South Africa
  Range of official statistical publications & information.