Africa

SOAS Library provides access to many databases which support research into Africa. SOAS students and staff can cross-search a range of databases relevant to the study of the Africa via the library catalogue.
Most databases can be accessed by all Library users on-campus. For a full list of our databases please see A-Z list databases.

• Africa-Wide Information
  contains details about books and articles relating to Africa and especially South Africa as well as some full text articles (chiefly news reports). Records have been taken from various  institutions' catalogues including SOAS. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students using their SOAS ID and password. 
  On-campus use/ Off-campus use

• Africa Confidential

  Africa Confidential is one of the longest-established specialist publications on Africa, with a considerable reputation for being first with in-depth news and analysis on significant political, economic and security developments across the continent.

           For off-campus access please use this link:  https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://soas.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1461369

• African Digital Research Repositories & Database of African Publishers   
  Freely available listing of Institutional research repositories within Africa compiled by the International African Institute (IAI), SOAS together with a Database of African Publishers developed by the IAI in association with the African Books Collective.

• African Journals Online: Open Access Collection

             "African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals."                  The OA collection contains more than 500 titles available under open access.

• allAfrica.com
  Collects, produces and distributes 2000 news items daily from over 130 African news organizations and their own reporters. Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students using their SOAS ID and password.

• Index to Theses of Great Britain and Ireland
  Index of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716, many with abstracts.  Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students.
  On-campus use / Off-campus use

• Brill Online Reference
  Provides access to a number of reference works. The most relevant for Africa are:

• African Studies Companion Online Contains over 1800 entries covering guides and resources for African Studies. Many entries describe and evaluate resources and many link directly to the internet.
  On-campus use / Off-campus use
   
• Africa Yearbook Online Covers major domestic political developments, foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Saharan Africa.
  On-campus use / Off-campus use
   
• Ethnographic Video Online
  Searchable database of ethnographic film. Available to all Library users on-campus.
  Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students.
   

• REON - The International Relations and Area Studies Gateway 
  The German Information Network International Relations and Area Studies is a network of libraries and documentation departments of 12 research organisations. Includes bibliographic references and a number of full-text documents.

• Oxford Reference
  Access to over 100 Oxford University Press encyclopaedias, dictionaries and other reference works across a wide range of relevant subject. Includes ‘A dictionary of African mythology’ and ‘The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature’.  
  On-campus use / Off-campus use

• Smithsonian Global Sound 
  An online encyclopaedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Including over 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds.
  On-campus use/ Off-campus use