The Library has developed collections relating to Media, Film and Creative Industries from Africa, Asia and the Middle East. The subjects cross over into regions and country specific research including multi-disciplinary and Diaspora Studies and the material is in European, Asian and African languages.
Library resources support the study of culture, the commodification of art and sustainability, diversity and precariarity in the cultural economy, with a focus on learning through making, that will enable students to undertake successful careers within the cultural economy. Subjects also include, podcasting, sound recording, and curating.
What’s in the Collection?
Books and journals relating to Media and Films from Africa, Asia and the Middle East in Western and Asian vernacular languages.
Video recordings: Asian, African and Middle Eastern films, performing arts and documentary on video cassettes and DVDs
Newspapers from Africa, Asia and the Middle East in print and electronic media
Books on study of media and films in general can be found on Level E
|
Press and Journalism |
|
|
Media Studies |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Film Studies |
Note: Media and Film Studies in specific countries and regions are located in each country or regional collection.
Books prefixed L or Ref are located separately.
Films- Multi-media materials in the Library
Majority of films are in open access areas on Level E. DVDs are classified according to regions:-
|
Classmark |
Regions |
|
Sub-Saharan Africa |
|
|
North Africa (Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia) |
|
|
Near and Middle East, (incl. Israel) |
|
|
South Asia |
|
|
South East Asia (incl. Oceania) |
|
|
East Asia incl. China (incl. Tibet, Mongolia) |
|
|
Japan, Korea |
|
|
Asia and Africa in general (i.e. cross region) |
|
|
Other regions of the world |
Closed Access Materials
Reference DVDs with classmark MDVD are kept in closed access areas. To consult ‘Reference Only’ DVDs, requisition slips are available at Issue Desk. The form should be completed and returned to the staff. You may submit up to three slips for each collection.
Collections of closed access materials are made four times per day (10 am, 11.30 am, 2 pm & 4 pm)
Starting Your Research
If you know the article you are looking for search the Library catalogue. You can search subject guides, e- journals, databases and Special Collections under resources from the main library catalogue.
How do I find multi-media resources?
Majority of music CDs and DVDs are open access on Level E, stack 48 and 49. Music CDs and DVDs are classified according to regions as below. You can also browse by class mark into SOAS Library catalogue
DVDs
Music CDs
|
Classmark |
Regions |
|
Sub-Saharan Africa |
|
|
North Africa (Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia) |
|
|
Near and Middle East, (incl. Balkans) |
|
|
Jewish Music |
|
|
South Asia |
|
|
South East Asia (incl. Oceania) |
|
|
East Asia incl. China (incl. Tibet, Mongolia) |
|
|
Japan, Korea |
|
|
Asia and Africa in general (i.e. compilation, cross region) |
|
|
Other regions of the world (i.e. World music, Cuban music, Latin Music) or Non-regional |
Closed Access Materials:-
|
Classmark |
|
|
Reference Only music CDs |
|
|
Reference Only DVDs |
To consult ‘Reference Only’ CDs and DVDs, requisition slips are available at Issue Desk. The form should be completed and returned to the staff. You may submit up to three slips for each collection.
Collections of closed access materials are made four times per day (10 am, 11.30 am, 2 pm & 4 pm)