LibGuides: Centre for Creative Industries, Media and Screen Studies (CCIMSS): Home

About Centre for Creative Industries and Media and Screen Studies Collection

Welcome to the Centre for Creative Industries, Media and Screen Studies Library resource

New research by SOAS Academics and Global South Researchers. Available now in SOAS Library as an e book!

In this guide you will find in-depth information about the Library collections which will support you in your studies for research of film and media and creative studies as well as links to freely available web-sites which are recommended by your subject librarian.
SOAS students and staff may attend Library training sessions or arrange an individual training session with the subject librarian. For more details, contact the Subject Librarian, Farzana Qureshi.
If you would like more information, either on the collection or this guide please contact the subject librarian for CCIMSS.
The SOAS Library's Archives and Special Collections hold over 3 kilometres of archives, 60,000 rare books, and manuscripts in over 140 languages to students and researchers globally.

The library has a new Bluesky account! Follow us on SOAS Library (@soaslibrary.bsky.social) — Bluesky

Watch now via SOAS' streaming database Kanopy

Ten: TEN sequences in the emotional lives of six women and the challenges that they face at one particular moment in those lives, that could just as easily be ten sequences in the emotional life of the one same woman…

Hot off the press! Check out our new book titles below

Ethnic Minority Cinema in China's Nation-State Building by Kwai-Cheung Lo
ISBN: 9780472904884

Publication Date: 2025

Ethnic Minority Cinema in China's Nation-State Building investigates the relationship between cinematic productions about non-Han ethnic minorities and China's nation-state building project from the early Republican era of the 1920s to the current authoritarian regime in the twenty-first century. Kwai-Cheung Lo argues that the glossy, but superficial, cinematic depictions of non-Han ethnic minorities manufactured and manipulated by state authorities have deeply penetrated the Chinese public's conception of what an ideal multiethnic nation should be like as well as what it means to be Chinese under political unification
African Cinema and Urbanism by Marie-Paule Macdonald
ISBN: 9781839991097

Publication Date: 2024

The changing nature of African landscapes, from rural to urbanized spaces, has been a pre-occupation of African media producers since the beginnings of the African film industry in the 1960s. The authors bring together several examples of African documentary and fiction screen media that present, evaluate and criticize urban and rural landscapes, and the rural and urban dynamic of development, in relation to contemporary issues, from biodiversity, sustainability and deforestation, to inequity, women's rights, political instability, to climate change-related themes of water and food supply, security and sovereignty.
Expanding Verse by Andrew Campana
ISBN: 9780520399228

Publication Date: 2024

Explores experimental poetic practice at key moments of transition in Japan's media landscape from the 1920s to the present. Andrew Campana centers hybrid poetic forms in modern and contemporary Japan--many of which have never been examined in detail before--including the cinepoem, the tape recorder poem, the protest performance poem, the music video poem, the online sign language poem, and the augmented reality poem. Drawing together approaches from literary, media, and disability studies, he contends that poetry actively aimed to disrupt the norms of media in each era.
African Media in an Age of Extraction by Noah Tsika
ISBN: 9789048561261

Publication Date: 2024

African Media in an Age of Extraction takes a fresh, site-specific look at the relationship between moving images and the mining of natural resources, arguing that where we "place" Nollywood and other industries has important practical and conceptual consequences. Such locations are not just spatial metaphors but also tangible geographies with material connections to extractive economies. Sites of film production are often spaces of oil prospecting, timber harvesting, and mineral extraction--natural environments continuously transformed by capital. African Media in an Age of Extraction links such absolute spaces--reclaimed lands, razed forests, petroleum zones, abandoned coal mines collecting moss, vast tin fields inspiring illegal dredging by populations locked out of the licit economy--to the abstract and lived dimensions of film villages, shooting locations, and exhibition centers. The geographies of African media industries are not fixed locations cleanly separated from surrounding areas or from the wider world (including Hollywood), nor are they fully detachable from the mineral and hydrocarbon resources that also define them.
Global mountain cinema by Christian Quendler (Editor) Caroline Schaumann (Editor) Kamaal Haque
ISBN: 9781399519991

Publication Date: 2025

This book is dedicated to the particular challenges and opportunities mountains raise for histories and theories of cinema. In German-speaking countries, the relationship between mountains and cinema has been largely reduced to a small canon of Alpine filmmakers whose work has been categorized as the Classical Bergfilm. However, from a transnational and transgeneric perspective, the field of mountain cinema is not only much richer and more diverse, but also addresses questions that are vital to film and media studies and inform postcolonial and environmental discourses in the Anthropocene. I
Women and Global Documentary by Shilyh Warren (Editor); Najmeh Moradiyan-Rizi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781350422896

Publication Date: 2025

In what innovative ways are women documentary filmmakers seeking to prioritize and promote political awareness, alternative modes of allyship, and advocacy for those most marginalized by patriarchy and global capitalism? Women and Global Documentary answers the urgent need to re-evaluate the significance of women's documentary practices, their contributions to feminist world-building, and to the state of documentary studies as a whole. Bringing together a range of diverse practitioners and authors, the volume analyzes alternative and emergent networks of documentary production and collaboration within a global context. The chapters investigate filmmaking practices from regions such as East Africa, Latin America, South Asia, East Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa.
Global Movie Magazine Networks by Eric Hoyt (Editor); Kelley Conway (Editor)
ISBN: 9780520402775

Publication Date: 2025

This groundbreaking collection of essays from leading film historians features original research on movie magazines published in China, France, Germany, India, Iran, Latin America, South Korea, the U.S., and beyond. Vital resources for the study of film history and culture, movie magazines are frequently cited as sources, but rarely centered as objects of study.