LibGuides: Centre for Creative Industries, Media and Screen Studies: Home

About Centre for Creative Industries and Media and Screen Studies Collection

Welcome to the Centre for Creative Industries, Media and Screen Studies Library resource. In this guide you will find in-depth information about the Library collections which will support you in your studies for research of film and media and creative studies as well as links to freely available web-sites which are recommended by your subject librarian.
SOAS students and staff may attend Library training sessions or arrange an individual training session with the subject librarian. For more details, contact the Subject Librarian, Farzana Qureshi.
If you would like more information, either on the collection or this guide please contact the subject librarian for CCIMSS.

New Database- July 2024 : A very short introduction

Oxford’s Very Short Introductions (VSI) series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop a reader’s core knowledge. SOAS library collection holds 554 titles in this series.
This is the link to A Very short introduction podcast
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3MAPgqN8JWhDt2ok5zoOotd7t9xUjccO

For off-campus access use this link
https://academic.oup.com/very-short-introductions

Selected New Books for Screen Studies and Creative Industries

The Archival Afterlives of Philippine Cinema by Bliss Cua Lim
ISBN: 9781478025733
Publication Date: 2024
Drawing on cultural policy, queer and feminist theory, materialist media studies, and postcolonial historiography, Bliss Cua Lim analyzes the crisis-ridden history of Philippine film archiving--a history of lost films, limited access, and collapsed archives. Rather than denigrate underfunded Philippine audiovisual archives in contrast to institutions in the global North, The Archival Afterlives of Philippine Cinema shows how archival practices of making do can inspire alternative theoretical and historical approaches to cinema.
Advertising As a Creative Industry by Izabela Derda
ISBN: 9781032203010
Publication Date: 2023
At the crossroads of culture and commerce, the advertising industry is a regime of paradoxes. This book examines the place of advertising in today's creative industries, exploring the major challenges advertisers confront as they engage with other creative sectors. Izabela Derda, author, media scholar, and industry expert, offers insights into how the industry keeps deconstructing its own creative processes and collaborative models as it attempts to stay relevant.
Diversity and inclusion: are we nearly there yet? : target setting in the screen industries by Doris Ruth Eikhof(Author)
ISBN: 9781003434542
Publication Date: 2024
This book provides the first compact knowledge base on diversity & inclusion (D&I) targets in the UK screen industries. Drawing on new, in-depth industry research and progressive theoretical voices, the book will help readers understand what D&I targets are, and what they could be in the future. The author explains different types of D&I targets, how D&I targets are currently used and how they might be developed to strategically drive inclusion.
Scholarly Podcasting by Ian M. Cook
ISBN: 9780367439422
Publication Date: 2022
Exploring what academic podcasting is and what it could be, this book is the first to consider the why, what, and how academics engage with this insurgent, curious, craft. Featuring interviews with 101 podcasting academics, including scholars and teachers of podcasting, this book explores the motivations of scholarly podcasters, interrogates what podcasting does to academic knowledge, and leads potential podcasters through the creation process from beginning to end.
Podcasting As an Intimate Medium by Alyn Euritt
ISBN: 9781032373645
Publication Date: 2022
This book delves into the notion of intimacy as a defining feature of podcasting, examining the concept of intimacy itself and how the public sphere explores the relationships created and maintained through podcasts. The book situates textual analysis of specific American podcasts within podcast criticism, monetization, and production advice. Through analysis of these sources' self-descriptions, the text builds a podcasting-specific framework for intimacy and uses that framework to interpret how podcasting imagines the connections it forms within communities.
Migration, Dislocation and Movement on Screen by Ruxandra Trandafoiu (Editor)
ISBN: 9781805395966
Publication Date: 2024
Contemporary screen industries such as film and television have become primary sites for visualizing borders, migration, maps, and travel as processes of separation and dislocation, but also connection. Migration, Dislocation and Movement on Screen pulls case studies in film and television industries from throughout Europe, North Africa, and Asia to interrogate the nature of movement via moving images. By combining theoretical, interdisciplinary engagements with empirical research, this volume offers a new way to look at screen media's representations of our contemporary world's transnational and cosmopolitan imaginaries.

Centre for Creative Industries, Media and Screen Studies

Your Subject Librarian

Suggestion for material

DVD or Streaming?

About Centre for Creative Industries and Media and Screen Studies Collection