SOAS Library provides access to databases which support research in all areas of CCIMSS.
SOAS students and staff can cross-search a range of related databases. Below is a list of our major databases available for Media and Film Studies. For a full list of our databases please see A-Z list databases
Communication and Mass Media Complete
This database offers full texts or indexes of articles from quality resources related to communication and mass media and other closely-related fields of study area. [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
Kanopy is a video-streaming service giving access to over 8,000 award-winning documentaries, foreign language films, feature films and TV series. Subject coverage includes the Arts, Anthropology, History, Religion & Philosophy and Regional Studies. [On-campus use]/ [Off-campus use]
Ethnographic Video Online
Searchable database with streaming of over 1,200 ethnographic films. The database includes not only works by world-famous pioneers in the filed (e.g. Jean Rouch, John Marshall) and but also contemporary documentary films in the world. [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
Web of Science
This is a very powerful database which indexes a wide range of journals in various disciplines. You can access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. This is a particularly useful database if you are looking for specific authors and their citation records. [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
Art Full Text
Full-text plus abstracts and indexing of an international range of Art related journals. Useful for keyword searching related film studies. [On-campus use]/ [Off-campus use]
Ingenta Connect
It is a database covering 30,000 journals, with bibliographic information and abstracts in broad subjects. [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
JSTOR
JSTOR is the most popular database offering full-text archive collections from over 1000 academic journals. [On-campus use]/ [Off-campus use]
TRILT
Database of over UK television and radio programmes from around 300 UK stations including terrestrial, cable, and satellite television (with regional variations), all national and many local radio stations. [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]