Online Distance Learners
Welcome to SOAS Library’s E-collection! Our collection can be searched on the online library catalogue.
Once you have typed your keywords in the search box, you can narrow down the results by format on the left-hand side menu; select ebook and/or e-journal, see the catalogue guide for more details.
You can also browse for ebooks, ejournals, newspapers archives, financial data, etc., in individual databases. Take a look at our A-Z list of databases.
To access SOAS Library e-books, e-journals and databases you will be asked to enter username and password:
Username is your student number, six digits, e.g. 123456
Password is initially set as your date of birth in a specific format: dd-M (Please change this password if you haven’t already done so!)
If you have any problems accessing e-materials, please clear your browser cache and try again. If the problems persist, please contact the E-resources librarian, Elie (electronic@soas.ac.uk)
For further information on using the Library and navigating the collection, please see left-hand menu bar. Library guides by subject and region are also available.
For advice on finding materials for your research, contact your subject librarian, Yurie (yw25@soas.ac.uk)
Reading Lists
Your course leader would have put together your reading materials on Moodle. Occasionally, when you find links that do not take you to the reading, try searching for it in the online library catalogue. If you need assistance, please contact your subject librarian.
The exception is reading material on Kortext. As these are not provided by the library, please contact your department.
Senate House Library’s e-resources available off-site
To access Senate House Library’s collection, including e-resources off-site, register for (free) membership: Register | Senate House Library
To register, you will need your SOAS email address and Student Number. Once you submit your registration, you will receive your Senate House Library membership ID number by email, with which you can log in to access their ebooks and e-journals.
Senate House Library’s online catalogue
We recommend you to use both SOAS Library and Senate House Library. The libraries have different strengths in their collections and complement each other.
Visiting SOAS Library and other UK Libraries
If you are ever in London, we hope that you will come to use the physical library in Russell Square. To access the library building, you’ll need to gain a SOAS ID card at the security desk downstairs. Students usually do this by presenting an enrolment card, issued by the SID. This should have been stamped and signed off by the appropriate sections (fees, identification, etc.) Alternatively, we also accept emails from the Registry.
Please note that during exam period (May), the security at the entrance is stricter towards visitors. As a distance learner, you are entitled to come in, but be prepared to be asked questions. Tell them you need to have your SOAS ID card issued at the Security Desk. If you have any concerns, please email libenquiry@soas.ac.uk in advance.
Distance Learning students in the UK can apply for SCONUL access to other university libraries but will need to have a SOAS ID card.
The inter-library loan (ILL) service can only be made available to Distance Learning students who are able to come to SOAS library in person. But if you only need to refer to a chapter of a book, or an article in a journal, you may be able to have the material scanned and sent to your email. Try filling out the ILL form, and see what they say.
Accessing academic libraries near you
SOAS library does not have any agreements with other libraries overseas, and therefore cannot refer you to university libraries outside of the UK. However, you might find libraries near you which, like SOAS Library, are national research libraries and are open to external users (It is more likely if you live in the capital, like Oslo). It is worth checking their website for more information and contacting them.