Colonial and postcolonial studies
Data and statistics
- SOAS Library subscribes to a number of databases, such as DataStream and UK Data Service- which provides IMF data, International Energy Agency data, International Social Survey and OECD data. For details, please consult Data and Statistics.
Demographic information
Human rights
- Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in more than 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights.
- Asian Human Rights Commission
Web-site of the Commission with information, news and links.
- Centre for the Study of Human Rights
A forum for researchers to debate critical human rights issues. Based at London School of Economics.
- Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is one of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights.
- Christian Solidarity Worldwide
UK-based human rights organization specializing in religious freedom worldwide.
- International Alert
UK-based NGO set up in 1985 by human rights activist Martin Ennals. Aims to provide an ethical framework for conflict transformation.
- International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)
Information about mission and activities of the Red Cross, including access to some full text materials.
- Internet Resources on Genocide and Mass Killings
Links and full text resources.
- University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Comprehensive collection of full text documents on human rights issues with links to over 1200 other human rights sites. Site can be searched by keywords.
- Watchlist on Children and Armed Conflict
US-based NGO which works to ensure that the security and rights of children in armed conflicts around the world are protected. Compiles information about the impact of wars, civil war and armed conflict on children's rights and well-being in individual countries. Full-text country reports from about 2000 onwards plus recent press releases.
- CIRI Human Rights Dataset contains standards-based quantitative information on government respect for a wide range of internationally-recognized human rights for countries of all regime-types and from all regions of the world. The data set contains measures of government human rights practices, not human rights policies or overall human rights conditions (which may be affected by non-state actors).
Political theory
Public opinion and surveys
-
UK Data Service: includes World Values Survey, Young Lives Survey, Afrobarometer, Arab Barometer, AsiaBarometer and Asian Barometer Survey.
-
Global Attitudes Project: a series of worldwide public opinion surveys that encompasses a broad array of subjects.
-
World Public Opinion: consortium of research centres studying public opinion on international issues in their respective countries.
-
Gallup: data driven news based on US and world polls.
- Mansfield Asian Public Opinion Poll Database: English translations of key policy-related issues from major media organizations and other agencies in Japan, South Korea, and China
Terrorism and counter-intelligence
- Brunel Centre for Intelligence and Security Studies
BCISS exists to research key aspects of intelligence and security questions, publish its findings widely and promote teaching and further research in the field.
- Center for the Study of Intelligence
The Center conducts research into all aspects of intelligence activities. Online full-text access to its journal, Studies in Intelligence, its Bulletin, and other books and monographs.
- Documents on Terrorism
Collection of resolutions, testimony, declarations and other documents from a number of official sources. Part of the Avalon Project at Yale Law School.
- Intelligence Gathering (RAND)
Useful full-text documents on terrorism and intelligence
War and conflict management
- INCORE (Initiative on Conflict Resolution and Ethnicity)
The key gateway for online resources relating to conflict and ethnicity. Use the Conflict Data Service for current and historical information on all major on-going conflicts, visit the theme sites for information on a variety of issues relevant to conflict, and select Country Guides for information on specific countries.
- Institute for War and Peace Reporting
News items about the Balkans, the Caucasus and other areas in Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union. Featuring crisis reports, tribunal updates and archives.
- International Crisis Group
Independent, non-profit, multinational organisation working through field-based analysis and high-level advocacy to prevent and resolve deadly conflict.
- Margarita S. Studemeister Digital Library in International Conflict Management
Part of United States Institute of Peace. Collecting full text of peace agreements signed by the contending parties, ending inter- and intrastate conflicts worldwide since 1989 for its Peace Agreements Digital Collection. Also acquiring decrees establishing truth commissions and similar bodies of inquiry worldwide, and the reports issued by such groups for the Truth Commissions Digital Collection
- Operations de paix
French-language guide to peace-keeping operations and initiatives worldwide, created by a network of Francophone research organisations led by the University of Montreal. Includes links to current and historical UN peace-keeping missions, biographies of key figures, glossary of key terms, full-text UN and other major peace documents, information on EU and African union peace initiatives and a listing of recent news stories.
- Program on Humanitarian Policy and Conflict Research - Harvard University
The only sector-wide professional association of individuals engaged in humanitarian assistance and protection worldwide, PHAP’s mission is to enhance the capacity of the global humanitarian community to respond effectively and professionally to current and future crises.
- Small Arms Survey
The Small Arms Survey is the principal source of public information on all aspects of small arms. It assesses national and international non-governmental organisations.
- Stop the War Coalition
Web-site containing information about the Group as well as information about the situation in Iraq/Middle-East/Palestine and all aspects of the "war on terror". The site aims to provide an online resource of articles and links which will be of use to students and staff at SOAS.
- Uppsala Conflict Database
Maintained by Uppsala University. Provides access to free information and data about conflicts worldwide from 1989 to the present.
Other
Elections
An online knowledge repository that provides comprehensive information and customised advice on electoral processes. The website contains in-depth articles, global statistics and data, an Encyclopaedia of Elections, information on electoral assistance, observation and professional development, region- and country-specific resources, daily electoral news, an election calendar, quizzes, expert networks and much, much more. Most of the ACE website is freely accessible to all users.
A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.
Election Guide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information available online. It provides content on:
- National elections around the world;
- Subnational elections of high interest;
- Political parties and candidates;
- Referendum provisions;
- News on election-related laws and developments around the world;
- Political institutions and electoral systems;
- Election results and voter turnout.
The International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) supports citizens’ rights to participate in free and fair elections. A vast array of information is available on their website.
A static research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries that was maintained through to 2003. Good for historical background.
Despite the production values, this is a fairly comprehensive and up-to-date archive of electoral information in the world, with election statistics from 182 countries.
Transparency
The UK Data Service contains figures on the ease of doing business and corruption
Freely available resources:
-
Citizen Journalism and Protest Movements
858.MA : An Archive of Resistance أرشيف ثوري
A unique collection featuring hundred of hours of footage shot and collected in Egypt around the 2011 Revolution are now made publicly available. More than 870 hours of indexed, time-stamped video material along with thousands more photographs and documents present thousands of histories of revolt told from hundreds of perspectives. All footage is published under creative commons.
