International Studies & Diplomacy (CISD)

Portals

• IPSA Portal
  Links to websites selected by the International Political Science Association for their value to online political science research.
• Parameters Online Resources
  Links to websites of online resources and bodies relating to military strategy and international security, compiled by the US Army War College with a US/Western selection bias.
• PoliticsDirect
  Links to websites of principal political institutions and organisations, with a heavy topical focus on UK national, regional and local bodies.
• Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
  Links to resources relevant to the study of UK and US politics and government compiled by a former lecturer at the University of Keele.
• WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs
  Extensive links to resources on international affairs, international relations and global studies, maintained by a retired US Professor.
• Muftah
  Resource description: Muftah is a journalistic platform launched in May 2010 to provide English-speaking audiences with incisive analysis on countries in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) that eschewed the Western media’s focus on terrorism, oil, and Islamism, and highlighted the complex factors that shape and influence regional countries and populations. From the start, Muftah has worked with a large and eclectic group of writers that include academics, practitioners, activists, and members of diaspora communities.
• United Nations Archive Geneva Platform
  Among the 14,2 million pages digitized are documents covering all the activities of the League between 1920 and 1946, and some 27,000 maps and 9,000 photographs.

Key sites

• ACE Electoral Knowledge Network
  Information and commentary on electoral processes worldwide, including articles, comparative data and an online encyclopaedia.
• Avalon Project
  Multi-disciplinary historical digital archive of documents relating to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
• Global Terrorism Database
  Details of individual terrorist events carried out from 1970 onwards, updated annually.
• Human Rights Atlas
  Interactive, visual tool for mapping and manipulating global human rights data drawn from the World Bank, UN and other bodies.
• IPU PARLINE
  Information on the structure, working methods and electoral systems of parliaments in countries where a national legislature exists.
• Political Data Yearbook Interactive
  Data on national election results, voter turnout and changes in the composition of government in 36 countries, including all EU states.
• SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
  Leading social science online library of free full-text and abstracted scholarly research papers deposited by academics.
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  Online philosophy reference work written and updated by academic experts, with entries on political theory and prominent thinkers.
• The World Factbook
  Facts and figures on the countries of the world, compiled by the US Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
• UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia
  Information on armed conflicts, peace agreements and other aspects of organised violence globally, covering 1946 onwards.
• APSA (American Political Science Association)
  Professional organisation promoting the study of political science.
• BISA (British International Studies Association)
  Learned society for the study of international studies and politics.
• Brookings Institution
  Noted American non-profit public policy research organisation.
• Chatham House
  Royal Institute of International Affairs, a leading research body.
• EPSA (European Political Science Association)
  Professional association promoting political science in Europe.
• IISS (International Institute for Strategic Studies)
  Renowned research body on peace, security and military conflict.
• IPSA (International Political Science Association)
  Body aiming to foster an inclusive, global political science network.
• PSA (Political Science Association)
  Lead UK association developing and promoting the study of politics.
• RUSI (Royal United Services Institute)
  Independent think tank engaged in defence and security research.
• Oxfam

Parliamentary and legislative bodies

(Off-campus access to subscription databases available to SOAS staff and students only)

• Parline database: produced by the Inter-Parliamentary Union
  Information on 266 parliamentary chambers in all 190 countries where a legislature exists
• House of Commons Parliamentary Papers [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Full-text scans of Commons' sessional papers 1715-2004, with supplementary digitised Parliamentary material 1688 onwards, including Hansard from 1803 to 2005.
• IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences) [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Details of social science publications, including journal articles and books, with extensive politics and international relations subject coverage, 1951 onwards.
• Social Sciences Citation Index [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Details of article content and citation counts for social science disciplinary journals, including key politics and international relations titles, 1970 onwards.

Global and international relations

• E-International Relations
  Website for IR students, providing a range of content including articles, blogs, essays and interviews.
• Eldis
  Information on and access to policy and research globally on international development issues.
• Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
  Country data on a range of measures supporting research on international relations and security.
• Global Policy Forum
  Scrutiny of UN and global policymaking on peace, security, social justice and international law.
• International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  International financial organisation supporting global monetary cooperation, trade and poverty reduction.
• International Relations and Security Network
  Wide range of information tools and sources for researchers and students of IR and security studies.
• Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  Statistics, publications and analysis supporting policy action to improve economic and social well-being.
• United Nations
  News and documents of the lead body and agencies promoting global security and social progress.
• World Bank
  Data and analysis relating to the development bank's aim of poverty reduction by inclusive globalization.
• World Economic Forum
  Work of body engaging political and business leaders in jointly tackling global and regional issues.
• World Trade Organization
  Documents and resources from the main institution regulating and resolving global trade matters.

Other

(Off-campus access to subscription databases available to SOAS staff and students only)

• Business Source Premier [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Articles in business magazines, journals and trade publications, some from 1886 onwards, plus regional economic studies and country reports.
• EconLit [on-campus access / off-campus access]
• Details of journal articles, books and other research on economic topics, including economic history and political economy, 1969 onwards.
• Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) 1974-1996 [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Daily reports of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the world, translated into English.
• GreenFILE [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Multi-disciplinary coverage of publications on environmental topics, including scholarly, governmental and general interest titles.
• Hansard 1803-2005
  Full-text electronic unofficial versions of the official debates of the UK Parliament.
• JSTOR [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Full-text archive of articles from selected journals, including politics and international relations titles. For most journals, coverage ceases 2-5 years from the current day.
• UK Data Service
  Key national and international economic and social statistics, including official EU, IMF, OECD and World Bank time series data, and UK 1971-2011 census data.
• WorldCat
  Combined catalogue of material held in collections of contributing libraries worldwide.
• Zetoc [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  British Library service providing details of journal articles and conference papers taken from tables of contents, 1993 onwards.

Journal articles

(Off-campus access to subscription databases available to SOAS staff and students only)

• AULIMP (Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals)
  Citation details of articles, news items and editorials published in English-language military and aeronautical journals, 1987 onwards.
• ECLAS
  Details of resources added to EU Commission libraries since 1978, with extensive coverage of journal articles on EU-related matters.
• EconLit [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Details of journal articles, books and other research on economic topics, including economic history and political economy, 1969 onwards.
• IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences) [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Details of social science publications, including journal articles and books, with extensive politics and international relations subject coverage, 1951 onwards.
• JSTOR [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Full-text archive of articles from selected journals, including politics and international relations titles. For most journals, coverage ceases 2-5 years from the current day.
• Social Sciences Citation Index [on-campus access / off-campus access]
  Details of article content and citation counts for social science disciplinary journals, including key politics and international relations titles, 1970 onwards.