Access to 1000s of academic journals, as well as 12,000+ e-books from leading publishers such as Princeton University Press, Yale University Press, MIT Press, and Harvard University Press.
For off-campus access use this link
https://shibbolethsp.jstor.org/start?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fidp.soas.ac.uk%2Fentity&site=jstor&dest=%2F
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Academic Reference (AR) is designed to provide a one-stop search and discovery platform of China’s academic development, current research hotspots, and social culture for overseas colleges, universities, research institutions, and enterprises
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ar.oversea.cnki.net/
AM Research Skills includes hundreds of videos, essays, case studies and practice sources which introduce the key methods and approaches that scholars take when working with historical material. Questions asked include: What are primary sources? How can you use them in your research? Why are some historical documents archived and why did others disappear? Why does it matter today?
Designed to help evaluate primary sources for the first time and work with source materials and historical evidence, the content covers:
Research Skills Foundations
Interrogating Colonial Documents and Narratives
*Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.
Trial available until 13th May 2024
Please send any feedback to fq@soas.ac.uk
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.amresearchskills.amdigital.co.uk
CAJ database is categorized into 10 subsets, including humanities, social sciences, philosophy, natural science and medicine. This trial provides access to subsets that are not covered in SOAS Library’s current subscriptions.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://oversea.cnki.net/kns?dbcode=CJFQ
CCND includes articles, news reports, editorials, etc. from over 600 newspapers published in the mainland China from all levels, including party newspapers, financial and trade newspapers as well as general interest newspapers.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://oversea.cnki.net/kns?dbcode=CCND
CDMD gives a comprehensive coverage of dissertations and theses from top universities and research institutes in the mainland China. This trial provides access to series that are not covered in SOAS Library’s current subscriptions.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://oversea.cnki.net/kns?dbcode=CDMD
CMSD provides full-text from continuing monographs that were published regularly or irregularly by academic institutions in the mainland China since 1979.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://oversea.cnki.net/kns?dbcode=CCJD
CRWO provides contents of 2000 reference tools, which include about 80 Chinese dictionaries, 100 bilingual dictionaries and over 100 subject encyclopaedia.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://gongjushu.oversea.cnki.net/oversea
CSYD provides comprehensive and continuous official statistics since 1949. It is among SOAS Library’s current subscription.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://data.oversea.cnki.net/
China Yearbooks Full-text Database (CYFD) (中國年鑑全文數據庫)
Trial
CYFD contains approximately 1400 titles, which cover information on the national or regional level and on aspects such as politics, economy, science and technology, specific industry or trade, culture and education.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://oversea.cnki.net/kns?dbcode=CYFD
CPCD is a full-text database of papers from national and international conferences held in mainland China across all academic disciplines.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://oversea.cnki.net/kns?dbcode=CFLP
This eBook collection include around 8000 books, mainly classical works in Chinese
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://book.oversea.cnki.net/CCGBWEB/Book/Index
The Encyclopedia introduces the multifaceted aspects of Taiwan’s past and present in almost 600 entries, authored by more than 300 worldwide scholars who are experts in the archaeology, history, linguistics, anthropology, sociology, political science, international relations, Indigenous studies, literature, gender studies, media studies, cinema and documentary, music, and art of Taiwan.
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://referenceworks.brillonline.com/browse/encyclopedia-of-taiwan-studies
The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides an invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half-century
Lived Places Publishing https://livedplacespublishing.com/ is a new provider of course-readings delivered in interdisciplinary collections on library-friendly terms. In just over a year, LPP has launched 15 collections, including Disability Studies, Forced Migration Studies, Child Homelessness Studies, Queer and LGBT+ Studies, Black Studies, and more. They have near 50 books signed, with new titles launching monthly. Their editors and authors cover the globe, from Nigeria, UKI, India, New Zealand, Canada, Germany, the United States, and beyond.
Please send any feedback to Farzana Qureshi (fq@soas.ac.uk)
Trial available until 31st May 2024
From the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have stood at the crossroads of history. The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
The database is an exclusive collection of the census data from all the provinces and counties and centrally administered municipalities. Content coverage includes: name, gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, birth, death, housing, migration, etc.
Trial available until 26 May 2024
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://npcd.oversea.cnki.net/en
The South Asian Newspapers collection chronicles these conflicts as well as contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and the extensive economic and social growth taking place in the region during this time. The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more
