Skip to Main Content

International Studies & Diplomacy

News Sources

Title Description Links

Access World News

Access World News is a web-based news resource featuring more than 1000 newspapers from around the world. Updated daily, it includes both current and archived content. On-campus use

Off-campus use

Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search

(朝日新聞クロスサーチ)

"KIKUZOU II Visual" is renewed as "Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search." It is the largest newspaper article database in Japan. This database contains full-text articles from the Asahi Shimbun ( 朝日新聞, since 1945), AERA weekly magazine (since 1988), Shukan Asahi weekly magazine, an annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Who’s Who Database, and Historical Photo Archive.
Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search (朝日新聞クロスサーチ)
Access

Any Library user from computers on-campus. SOAS students and staff only from computers off-campus. Limited access for 3 users at a time among 5 consortium member libraries.

Authentication

Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students, using their SOAS id and password.

Full-text or bibliographic

Full-text in Japanese

Description

A newspaper database for Asahi Shinbun, containing three weekly magazines, Aera, Asahi Gurafu, and Shūkan Asahi, and an annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Who’s Who Database, and Historical Photo Archive are also available.

Dates covered

朝日新聞 (Asahi Shinbun): August 1984 to the present date
朝日新聞縮刷版 (Asahi Shinbun Shukusatsuban) = Asahi Shimbun Compressed Edition:  1879~1984
アエラ(Aera): August 1984 to the present date
アサヒグラフ  (Asahi Gurafu): 1923 to 1956
週刊朝日(Shukan Asahi): August 1984 to the present date
知恵蔵: The latest edition
歴史写真: 1930s to 1945

Download/e-mail/print/reference software

Download/print available

On-campus use

Off-campus use

Al-Ahram Digital Archive
The Al-Ahram digital archive provides a comprehensive collection of this 1875-founded Arabic newspaper, including such features as full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text. On-campus use

Off-campus use
allAfrica.com
AllAfrica.com is an Africa related news archive; with content from over 100 media organizations.
allAfrica.com
 

Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students, using their SOAS id and password.

Full-text or bibliographic

Full-text

Description

AllAfrica.com is a news archive containing over 900,000 articles from about 130 media organizations, AllAfrica.com’s own reporting team, NGOs, governments and international institutions. About 1000 articles are posted daily.

The site is browsable by region/country and topic. The advanced search provides further options such as specifying time periods, publishers and categories.

Languages

Available in French and English language versions.

Dates covered

1996 to current.

Download/e-mail/print/reference software

E-mail and print .

Further information.

Site guide

On-campus use

Off-campus use
Foreign Affairs

Foreign Affairs is a multimedia platform published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR); a non-profit membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas. The articles in Foreign Affairs deal with questions of international interest today while covering a broad range of subjects - offering not only political perspectives but also historical and economic.  

On-campus use
Off-campus use
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
Daily Reports, 1
974 - 1996
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. Access to this database is via Access World News by clicking 'all databases' menu at the top of the page. On-campus use

Off-campus use
Foreign Policy

Foreign Policy is one of the world's leading online magazines for global politics, economics, and ideas. Contains a range of analysis, opinion, and reporting on international news and global trends. 

On-campus use
Off-campus use
FT.com
Full, unlimited access to FT.com through desktop and mobile devices, with 60% more content than the print newspaper, and access to the FT online archive. Create your account using this FT/SOAS single sign on link https://sso.ft.com/sso/auth?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fidp.soas.ac.uk%2Fentity and your SOAS email address. Please note FT.com terms of use https://help.ft.com/help/legal/education-licence-terms-and-conditions-20180503/ in particular section 4 on use of content and IPRs. FT.com content should not be copied and pasted, forwarded or downloaded. Only links to articles should be shared On-campus use

Off-campus use
Japan Chronicle
Full-text version of English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940). Please, use either Firefox or Google Chrome web browser to access this resource. On-campus use

Off-campus use
The Japan Times Archives
An archive database of The Japan Times from March 1897 to December 2017.
The Japan Times Archives

An archive database of The Japan Times from March 1897 to December 2014. The Japan Times is an English daily newspaper from Japan formerly called The Japan Times and Mail (1918–1940),The Japan Times and Advertiser (1940–1943) , Nippon Times (1943–1956) , and The Japan Times from 1956. The contents is updated every summer. The latest contents are available from another database, The Japan Times Online.

On-campus use

Off-campus use
The Japan Times Online
The web version of The Japan Times covers 1999 to present. On-campus use

Off-campus use
The New York Times
1. Visit nytimes.com/passes to activate your New York Times digital pass.
2. On nytimes.com/passes, click on "Register" and create a free account using your school email address. If you already have registered a free NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials.
3. Validate your email address. Check your email inbox for a confirmation message from The New York Times. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your New York Times Academic Pass. This will bring you back to the academic pass page, where you will select whether you are a student or faculty member and select your graduation year if relevant.
Note: If the confirmation email doesn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to schools@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.
4. Success! You have successfully claimed a Digital Pass when you see the "Start Your Access" screen.
On-campus use

 
The Korea Times
The Korea Times is the oldest English daily newspaper published in South Korea which started in November 1950. This archival database provides all published contents including advertisements from 1956 to 2016.

Access
Any Library user from computers on-campus.

Authentication
Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students, using their SOAS id and password.

Full-text or bibliographic
Full-text in English

Description
The Korea Times is the oldest English daily newspaper published in South Korea which started in November 1950. This archival database provides all published contents including advertisements from 1956 to 2016.

Dates covered
1956-2016

Download/e-mail/print/reference software
Download/print available

On-campus use

Off-campus use
Lexis Library
A legal database provides access to selected full text case law, legislation and journal articles from the UK, EU, US and other selected jurisdictions. Also provides access to local and national UK newspapers.
Full text or bibliographic

Full text.

Description

A legal database which provides access to selected full text case law, legislation and journal articles from the UK, EU, US and other selected jurisdictions worldwide. Contains:

  • UK case law (1865 onwards) and legislation (1267 onwards)
  • EU case law (1954 onwards) and legislation (1952 onwards)
  • Comprehensive coverage of United States and Canadian legal materials
  • Includes legal materials for Hong Kong, Malaysia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brunei and Singapore
  • Provides access to international materials (includes treaties and agreements)
  • Contains over 1,000 Journals and Law Reviews published worldwide
  • Current Awareness – abstracts and indexes of legal and regulatory events in the UK and EU
  • Also includes Halsbury’s Laws of England providing a comprehensive narrative statement of the law of England and Wales.
  • Provides access to local and national UK newspapers.
Download/e-mail/print/reference software

Download, e-mail, print are available.

On-campus use

Off-campus use
Maisaku 毎索
毎日新聞 (Mainichi Shinbun - The oldest Japanese newspaper covering 1872 to present). The Mainichi (English newspaper archives covering June 2008 to present)

Access
Any Library user from computers on-campus. One simultaneous access only.

Authentication
Available to all Library users on-campus.

Full-text or bibliographic
Full-text in Japanese and English.

Description
毎日新聞 (Mainichi Shinbun - The oldest Japanese newspaper covering 1872 to present)
週刊エコノミスト (Shukan Ekonomisuto - Full text available from 1989 to present)
The Mainichi (English newspaper archives covering June 2008 to present)
毎日ヨロンサーチ (Japanese public opinion database covering October 1945-June 2016)
20世紀2001大事件 (Chronological tables of Japanese history in the 20th century arranged by topics and decade)

Dates covered
毎日新聞 (Japanese): March 1872 to the present.
The Mainichi (English): June1989 to the present.

Download/e-mail/print/reference software
Download/e-mail not available
Print available
Adobe Flash Player version 9 or later version

On-campus use

Off-campus use
Mideastwire.com
Mideastwire.com offers a daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs into English from the Arabic and Persian media, including the top newspapers, some satellite TV and radio. For off-campus access send an email from your SOAS email account to info@mideastwire.com On-campus use

 
The Mint Magazine
The Mint is the magazine for Promoting Economic Pluralism (PEP), a registered charity set up in 2016 to open up economics education, research and application to a broader range of perspectives. The Mint provides a space for a range of perspectives on understanding economies presented in an engaging and accessible format which is generally absent from journal articles due to the requirements of that format. Please follow the on/off campus link and register your account using the SOAS email address. On-campus use

Off-campus use
Naver News Library
[Naver 뉴스 라이브러리]
Newspaper database. A digital archive for Tonga ilbo[東亞日報], Kyŏnghyang sinmun  [京鄕新聞] and Maeil kyŏngje sinmun [每日經濟新聞].
Naver News Library [Naver 뉴스 라이브러리]
Access

Any Library user from computers on-campus. SOAS students and staff only from computers off-campus.


Authentication

Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students, using their SOAS id and password.


Full-text or bibliographic

Full-text.

Description

Newspaper database. A digital archive for Tonga ilbo[東亞日報], Kyŏnghyang sinmun  [京鄕新聞] and Maeil kyŏngje sinmun [每日經濟新聞]. Keyword search is available. Advanced search allows by choosing categories among eight subjects (e.g., politics, economy) and 25 document types (e.g., news articles, advertisements)

Dates covered

東亞日報  [Tonga ilbo] : 1920-1999
京鄕新聞  [Kyŏnghyang sinmun] : 1946-1999
每日經濟新聞  [Maeil kyŏngje sinmun = Maeil Business Newspaper] : 1966-1999

Download/e-mail/print/reference software

Download/e-mail/print not available.

On-campus use

Off-campus use
Nikkei Telecom 21
Japanese news and business information, containing Nihon Keizai Shinbun (日本経済新聞) since 1876, company profiles and financial information, and personnel information. Nikkei English News and Nikkei Asian Review from [スペシャルコンテンツ].
Access:

Any Library user from computers on-campus. SOAS students and staff only from computers off-campus. Access for one user only at a time. 6 pm JST to 5 am JST (23 hours a day)

Authentication

Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students, using their SOAS ID and password.

Username and password:

Not required.

Full-text or bibliographic:

Full-text.

Description:

Nikkei Telecom21 (Academic Package) is a group of comprehensive business database services offered by Nihon Keizai Shimbun.

The service consists of:

  • News: Real-Time Nikkei newswire service (Japanese and English)
  • Full Text Article Search: Nikkei’s 4 main newspapers and news (Japanese and English)
  • Market & Economic Indicators: Stock Indices, exchange rates, bond pricing and other economic indicators (Japanese)
  • Company Search: Company profiles and financial information (Japanese)
  • Who’s Who Search: Personnel information in business (Japanese)
Dates covered:

Nikkei Japanese news from 1876 to1961 and from 1975 to date. Nikkei English news from 1983 to date.

Download/email/print /reference software:

Print is available.

On-campus use

Off-campus use
NK News
News website about North Korea. On-campus use

Off-campus use
NK News Pro
News and data analysis tools including the North Korea Leadership Tracker, the Ship Tracker, Leading Indicators and KCNA Watch (Rodong Sinmun, Pyongyang Times, Naenara News. Uriminzokkiri periodicals, and charts and data). On-campus use

Off-campus use
North China Herald
Full text version of the North China Herald from 1850-1940. Please, use either Firefox or Google Chrome web browser to access this resource. On-campus use

Off-campus use
Renmin ribao
人民日报
Online version of Renmin ribao 人民日报 (People's Daily) 1946 - 2012 On-campus use

Off-campus use
The Seoul Press Online
The Seoul Press (published 1907-1937) was Japan’s Korean news flagship. Its mission was to validate the natural justice of Japanese imperialism in Korea, and Japan as the redeeming, organising, and modernising force in East Asia. This English newspaper represented the Japanese administration of Korea to the world. The collection includes the years 1907-09 and 1928-37. On-campus use

Off-campus use
Shen Bao (申報)
Shen Bao (申報), is the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China.
Shen Bao (申報)

Shen Bao (申報), is the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China. It was established by British businessman Ernest Major in 1872 and lasted until 1949 when the Chinese Communist Government shut it down. As an important primary source for late imperial and modern China, Shen Bao underwent three reigns of Qing Dynasty, and witnessed many significant historical events, such as Sino-French War, Sino-Japanese War, Boxer Rebellion, and two World Wars. Known for its rich news reporting, commentary and advertisement, Shen Bao played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the late 19th century and Republic Era.

On-campus use

Off-campus use
The Times of India (1838-2003)
Provides access to first hand accounts of historical local, regional and national news for publications including The Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce and the Bombay Times and Standard. Easily searchable, spanning centuries of historical and political events.

Part of ProQuest, The Times of India is a full text English language database that covers a range of subjects including Politics, History and Society. Document type searches cover reviews, military war news, editorial cartoons, obituaries and marriage notices. Articles  span historical key moments during India's rich and fascinating history, such as the partition of India, colonialism, post-colonialism, terrorism, gender issues and international relations. News stories that can be downloaded  in PDF format capture wars, assassinations, industrial disasters and the creation of Bangladesh. There is also coverage of sports and cinema. Topics can be cross searched  including images.

Full-text or bibliographic

Full-text

Dates covered

Varies for each title. The Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839-1859), The Bombay Times and Standard (1860- 1861) and Times of India (1839- 2003)

Download/e-mail/print

Download, e-mail, print facilities are available.

Further assistance

Tips on searching are available from the following help page:
https://search.proquest.com/help/academic/webframe.html?Search_Tips.html#Search_Tips.html

On-campus use

Off-campus use
聯合新聞網udn.com
Online newspapers, including: United Daily News, Economic Daily News, Ming Shen Daily News, United Evening News, World Journal and Europe Journal, contents of partner magazines.

Access
Any Library user from computers on-campus.

Authentication
Available to all Library users on-campus.

Full-text or bibliographic
Full-text is available to subscribed content.

Description
Provides worldwide Chinese readers  online news ; Cover newspapers: United Daily News, Economic Daily News, Ming Shen Daily News, United Evening News, World Journal and Europe Journal, contents of partner magazines.

Download/e-mail/print /reference software
Download, e-mail and print are available.

Search tip
The best result is gained by searching with terms in traditional Chinese.

Special requirements
All articles are available in PDF format so you will need Acrobat Reader version 5.X

On-campus use

Off-campus use
World News Connection Archive
World News Connection archive (1995-2013) is an English-language archive of over one million foreign newspaper articles and broadcast transcripts — methodically translated into English by the US Government — from almost 500 news sources in 130. News from the MENA region and Central Asia & the Caucasus, as well as titles published in United Kingdom such as al-Hayat, Al-Quds al-'Arabi and Al-Ayyam. On-campus use

Off-campus use
Yomidasu Rekishikan  
ヨミダス歴史館
Full text database of Yomiuri Shinbun (読売新聞) from the first issue in 1874 to the present. Includes the English edition, The Daily Yomiuri, and biographical information on some 2,000 people.

Available to all Library users on-campus.

Full-text or bibliographic

Full-text in Japanese and English.

Description

Full text database of Yomiuri Shinbun (読売新聞) from the first issue in 1874 to the present. Includes the English edition, The Daily Yomiuri, and biographical information on some 2,000 people.

Dates covered

読売新聞 (Japanese): From the first issue in November 1874 to the present, with local editions starting in Dec. 1986.

The Daily Yomiuri (English): September 1989 to the present.

Download/e-mail/print/reference software

Download/e-mail not available

Print available

Adobe Flash Player version 9 or later version

On-campus use

Off-campus use