Cambridge Core
500+ e-books from Cambridge University Press available to all Library users on-campus, and SOAS staff & students off-campus (with SOAS id and password). User guides
Ebook Central [on or off campus] Available to SOAS students and staff only.
Access to over 150,000 electronic books covering Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences subjects.
Make sure to download Adobe Digital Editions to your device before downloading your e-book, it is free.
Ebook Central video guides and print guide Ebook Central (pdf; 2mb)
EBSCO ebooks
SOAS library has a collection of over 16,000 ebooks via EBSCO.
You can also download the EBSCO App to access your ebook readings.
VLe-books Available to SOAS students and staff via institutional login.
Access to 2,000+plus titles. To dowload e-books from VLe-books platform you must download Adobe Digital Editions to your computer, it's free, see guidance.
SOAS Digital Library
SOAS Digital Collections makes available more than 41,000 titles in more than 200 languages from SOAS circulating, Special Collections, and Gallery. In addition to catalogue records, it also hosts searchable texts for the bulk of available titles. SOAS Digital Collections, both catalogue records and text, is also indexed by Google and Microsoft search engines.
ACLS Humanities E-book (HEB)
ACLS Humanities E-Book HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of 5,590 books of high quality in the humanities and humanistic social sciences. These titles are recommended by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies. Users may also access online book reviews from the major journals.
On-campus / Off-campus
Brill e-books - International Law and Human Rights & Humanitarian Law 2011 collection
70+ titles available for download. Available to all Library users on-campus, and SOAS staff & students off-campus (with SOAS id and password)
Human Rights and Humanitarian Law collection
International Law collection
Climate Change and Sustainability – Curated
This collection includes climate policy and law, climate justice, communication, environmental assessment and protection, communication, education, sustainable business and much more. These titles are essential reading and important resources for climate change and sustainability for researchers, students and professionals.
On-campus / Off-campus
Chinese ebooks via Airiti - iRead eBook
Thousands of Chinese ebooks published in Taiwan are provided by Airiti. You are able to preview up to 10% of each book from iRead eBook webpage. To access our purchased ebooks please click "本館館藏 ".
On-campus / Off-campus
Chinese e-books via CNKI
Over a thousand Chinese ebooks are available to preview for free from CNKI webpage. To access our purchased ebooks please click "My library". To find out more details please refer to the Chinese ebooks via CNKI manual.
If you want library to purchase any ebooks please contact the Subject librarian.
On-campus / Off-campus
You can access the books by going to the My Library section of CNKI books, after signing in with your SOAS credentials. You will also be able to search within these available books. Please note that this offer only includes online reading, not PDF downloads.
Chinese e-books via Duxiu
Thousands of Chinese ebooks are available to preview on Duxiu, and in some instances 20-50% of the books can be requested on the site. Currently purchased Duxiu books can be found in our catalogue, but if you want library to purchase any ebooks we do not have, please contact the Subject librarian.
On-campus / Off-campus
KinoDen
Japanese language books in Kinokuniya Digital Library.
You can read/download/print books which were purchased by SOAS Library.
On campus / Off campus
Maruzen ebooks
Japanese titles purchased only can be read/downloaded/printed.
On-campus / Off-campus
OpenEdition ebooks
Is a web platform for nearly 14,185 ebooks from 60 humanities and social sciences publishers.
Two thirds of the titles in the catalogue are freely available in HTML and can be quoted, printed or embedded on external sites (select "Read Online" to see all these titles under the SOAS tab on the left-hand side menu). PDF and ePub formats are available for download for a selected number of titles either on Open Access or subscribed by SOAS Library (select "read and download PDF / ePub" under the SOAS tab on the left-hand side menu).
If you want library to subscribe to more ebooks please contact the Subject librarian
On-campus / Off-campus
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law
Cross-searchable full text of over 180 current editions of books on a wide variety of aspects of international law from Oxford University Press. Updated twice a year with additional texts added.
On-campus / Off-campus
Oxford Scholarship Online - Law
Access to 700+ e-books on Law from Oxford Scholarship Online. Available to all Library users on-campus, and SOAS staff & students off-campus (with SOAS id and password).
Race, Ethnicity, Whiteness – Curated
The collection provides a contemporary and in depth overview of this growing global field.The collection is cross-disciplinary and will include material encompassing a range of social science and humanities disciplines such as sociology, politics, history, geography, anthropology, ethnic studies, cultural studies. Academics, researchers, practitioners, and students working within the area but from a variety of disciplines where questions of race and racism are studied and analysed will be drawn to this resource.
On-campus / Off-campus
SOAS-Kyobo Ebook
Korean Language Ebook portal site for SOAS students and academic staff.
Sign up is required to use Kyobo ebooks site. You must use SOAS email address and SOAS ID (or your name) when you sign up for the service.
The application process will take 1-2 days. For more detailed information, please check the guidance.
Westlaw UK e-books [Available to SOAS staff and students only, on and off-campus]
A small selection of e-books are available from Westlaw UK platform. Titles include: Chitty on Contracts 30th Ed., Clerk & Lindsell on Torts 20th Ed., McGregor on Damages 18th Ed., Palmers Company Law, Redfern & Hunter: Law and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration 5th Ed.
If you would like assistance with e-books please contact electronic@soas.ac.uk
CARRIE: Full Text Electronic Library
Free full text access to donated works still under copyright as well as out of copyright works.
IMF elibrary
The IMF eLibrary for the UK Data Service offers the entire catalogue of IMF publications in several digital formats. It is an indispensable tool for economics research and analysis including over 10,000 periodicals, books and working papers from 1951 onwards containing information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalisation, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction and more.
Internet Classics Archive
Full text classics from mainly Greco-Roman authors e.g. Aristotle, but other authors include Confucius, Lao-Tzu, Sun Tzu, Sa'di and Omar Khayyum.
JSTOR Open Acces e-Books
More than 950 Open Access ebooks are now available at no cost to libraries or users. These titles reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content; we’ve partnered with leading publishers such as University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, ANU Press, and Cornell University Press.
Online Books Page
Digital library of approx. 16,000 English language works. Available free of charge for personal, non-commercial use. Produced by John Mark Ockerbloom, University of Pennsylvania.
Project Gutenberg
Freely available over 60,000 texts from out of copyright books. Good selection of "classics" chosen by Project volunteers.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Full-text, electronic versions of selected University of California Press books in a range of subjects and areas, including recent publications relating to African, Middle Eastern and South Asian studies.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Full text documents on human rights issues with links to over 1200 human rights sites.
Aozora bunko
Freely available open source books in Japanese.