The site provides images of national treasures and important cultural properties owned by 4 national museums. Descriptions can be provided in multiple languages.
Compiled by NIHU (National Institutes for the Humanities), this resource guide provides a collection of links to useful English websites and resources pertaining to Japanese Arts and Crafts.
An on-line Dictionary of Japanese Architectural and Art Historical Terminology compiled by Dr. Mary N. Parent. It contains approximately 8000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868).
A collection of various databases, compiled by Nara National Research Institute for Cultural Properties. Small number of English databases are included.
A collection index site of “Edo-Tokyo Museum”, “Tokyo Photographic Art Museum”, “Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo” and “Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum”
A database of Japanese woodblock print images and metadata aggregated from a variety of museums, universities, libraries, auction houses, and dealers around the world.
Obituaries at TOBUNKEN Research Collections
The database covers obituaries in the Japanese Art Yearbook which is published by Tokyo Institute of Cultural Properties. (2,817 entries)
Japanese name information index database
National Diet Library offers a database to search for personal names and information from Japanese books and magazines.
Shibunkaku
The Database provides over 9,700 artist biographies in Japan.
Japan Kogei Association
You can search for the main works of human national treasures who hold titles of important intangible cultural assets in the traditional Japanese craft.
Artis Japan
The site provides information about 49,789 Artists in Japan, China, Korean, Europe and America.
Jinmei Jiden
The web-based biographic dictionary of artists, musician and authors from 17th -20th Century.
Art exhibitions database at Tobunken
The database offers information on Modern and Contemporary art exhibitions held in Japan between 1935 and 2013.
Hakurankai Shiryo Collection
Searchable database for information on Art Expos that were held from Meiji period to present. The site contains official records, posters, tickets and official goods over 10,000 materials on Art expo held in Japan and abroad
