The following databases are available in SOAS Library. To access a database remotely, please use the 'off-campus use' link and insert your SOAS ID and password.
| Title | Description | Links |
|---|---|---|
Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search[朝日新聞クロスサーチ] |
"Asahi Shimbun Cross Search" is the largest newspaper article database in Japan. This database contains full-text articles from the Asahi Shimbun ( 朝日新聞, since 1945), AERA weekly magazine (since 1988), Shukan Asahi weekly magazine, an annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Who’s Who Database, and Historical Photo Archive. Limited access for 3 users at a time. |
On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Bungei Shunju Archives[文藝春秋アーカイブズ] |
Bungei Shunjū is regarded as one of the most popular and influential literary magazines in Japan. This Archives provide full-texts of 323 issues between January 1, 1923 (Taisho 12) to December 1, 1950 (Showa 25). Around 90,000 pages of essays, fiction, and articles by over 4,000 authors and contributors are available. You can search headlines in article titles, publication, year and month, author and the body of articles. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
CiNii [サイニィ] Research |
CiNii is a database service which can be serached with academic information of articles, Books, Journals and Dissertations. User guide via this link | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Collection of Handwritten Materials by Japanese Modern Literary Writers[近代文学作家自筆資料集] |
This database contains about 480 handwritten materials by more than 60 writers who have led the modern Japanese literature, such as Kyoshi Takahama, Soseki Natsume, Ogai Mori, Ryunosuke Akutagawa, Shiki Masaoka, Haruo Sato, and Takashi Nagatsuka. The original materials are held by Kyoshi Memorial Museum. The database also includes handwritten letters, postcards, illustrations and the final chapter of Soseki Natsume's "I Am a Cat" It is a valuable historical material that allows users to see the lively modern Japanese literary scene | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Diaolong Full-text Database of Chinese & Japanese Ancient Books[雕龍: 中日古籍全文資料庫] |
Provides full-text access to a number of collections of pre-modern writings, including the Daozang 道藏, Daozang jiyao 道藏輯要, Sibu congkan 四部叢刊, Xu sibu congkan 續四部叢刊, Yongle dadian 永樂大典, and Siku quanshu 四庫全書. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Gunsho Ruiju [群書類従] (Classified Collection of Japanese Classics) |
A collection of Japanese literary classics and historical records dating from the late 9th century to the beginning of the Edo period (1600−1868). Subjects include art, geography, history, law, literature, music, politics, religion, and sociology. Limited access for 7 users at a time among 8 consortium member libraries. |
On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
JapanKnowledge Lib[ジャパンナレッジ Lib] |
A selection of major dictionaries and encyclopaedias, as well as databases for weekly journals and books etc. SOAS has access to the JapanKnowledge +NK. Limited access for 6 users at a time among 8 consortium libraries. |
On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Japan: political & economic reports, 1906-1970 |
This Cambridge Archive Edition provides an extensive series of British diplomatic reports containing a continuous account of developments in Japanese history from 1906-1960. It is an important research on Japanese international relations, internal political and economic affairs and post-war civil and economic reconstruction. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
The Japan Times Archives |
An archive database of The Japan Times from March 1897 to December 2017. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
The Japan Times Online |
The web version of The Japan Times covers 1999 to present. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Kobunso Taika Koshomoku[弘文荘待賈古書目] |
A set of antiquarian books catalogs sent to customers by Sorimachi Shigeo, who founded the vintage bookstore “Kobunso (弘文荘)” in 1932. The catalogs are filled with detailed bibliographical information and a wealth of illustrations, making them a useful reference for philological and bibliographical studies. | On-campus use |
| Off-campus use | ||
Maisaku 毎索 |
毎日新聞 (Mainichi Shinbun - The oldest Japanese newspaper covering 1872 to present). The Mainichi (English newspaper archives covering June 2008 to present) | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Meiji Japan |
A collection of manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925). Edward Morse was one of the first American to live in Japan teaching science at the Imperial University of Tokyo. Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artists’ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture . The collection includes correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, archaeology field work and publications. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Nikkei Telecom 21 |
Japanese news and business information, containing Nihon Keizai Shinbun (日本経済新聞) since 1876, company profiles and financial information, and personnel information. Nikkei English News and Nikkei Asian Review from [スペシャルコンテンツ]. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Taiyō [太陽] |
Taiyo is considered indispensable for the study of Japan's modern period. It was a comprehensive magazine published by Hakubunkan from January 1895 to February 1928 (a total of 34 volumes, 531 issues). It was Japan's first general interest popular magazine which offered political, military, economic and social commentary, especially known for its literary criticism, Japanese literature, and translation of Western authors. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Yomidasu Rekishikan[ヨミダス歴史館] |
Full text database of Yomiuri Shinbun (読売新聞) from the first issue in 1874 to the present. Includes the English edition, The Daily Yomiuri, and biographical information on some 2,000 people. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |
||
Zassaku Plus[雑誌記事索引集成データベース] |
Index database for Japanese magazine and periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present. | On-campus use |
Off-campus use |