SOAS Library provides access to many databases which support research into Global Media and Communications.
Most databases can be accessed by all Library users on-campus. For more information see the Electronic Resources pages. For a full list of our databases please see A-Z databases.
Below is a list of our major databases available for Global Media and Communications.
Indexing for over 1000 journals, with 300+ in full-text; covering communication, mass media, and other related fields. Some titles date as far back as 1915; but most cover the current 10 years. For off-campus access use this link.
The largest resource for the visual study of human culture and behavior. Over 1200 streaming films. Global in scope, it contains footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures, and is particularly rich in its coverage of the developing world.
For off-campus access use this link.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences [IBSS]
With over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951, IBSS is unique in its broad coverage of international material.
- ISI Web of Science/Knowledge
A powerful database that indexes a wide range of journals in various disciplines. You can access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. This is a particularly useful database if you are looking for specific authors and their citation records.
- Kanopy
Kanopy is a video-streaming service giving access to over 8,000 award-winning documentaries, foreign language films, feature films and TV series. Subject coverage includes the Arts, Anthropology, History, Religion & Philosophy and Regional Studies.
For off-campus access use this link.
- Oxford Reference
Access to over 100 Oxford University Press encyclopaedias, dictionaries and other reference works across a wide range of subjects relevant to political scientists.
