Below is a list of news sources available at SOAS, listed by region.
Access World News [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
Access World News is a web-based news resource featuring more than 1000 newspapers from around the world. Updated daily, it includes both current and archived content.
Financial Times [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
Full, unlimited access to FT.com through desktop and mobile devices, with 60% more content than the print newspaper, and access to the FT online archive. Create your account using this FT/SOAS single sign and your SOAS email address.
Foreign Affairs [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
Foreign Affairs is a multimedia platform published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR); a non-profit membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas. The articles in Foreign Affairs deal with questions of international interest today while covering a broad range of subjects - offering not only political perspectives but also historical and economic.
Foreign Policy [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
Foreign Policy is one of the world's leading online magazines for global politics, economics, and ideas. Contains a range of analysis, opinion, and reporting on international news and global trends.
(App also available; download the app while connected to SOAS wifi, then you can access it anywhere)
Lexis Library [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
A legal database provides access to selected full text case law, legislation and journal articles from the UK, EU, US and other selected jurisdictions. Also provides access to local and national UK newspapers.
The New York Times [On-campus use]
Access
|
1. Visit nytimes.com/passes to activate your New York Times digital pass. |
World News Connection Archive [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
World News Connection archive (1995-2013) is an English-language archive of over one million foreign newspaper articles and broadcast transcripts — methodically translated into English by the US Government — from almost 500 news sources in 130. News from the MENA region and Central Asia & the Caucasus, as well as titles published in United Kingdom such as al-Hayat, Al-Quds al-'Arabi and Al-Ayyam.
Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search (朝日新聞クロスサーチ)
This database contains full-text articles from the Asahi Shimbun, AERA weekly magazine, Shukan Asahi weekly magazine, an annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Who’s Who Database, and Historical Photo Archive.
Japan Chronicle [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
Full-text version of English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940). Please, use either Firefox or Google Chrome web browser to access this resource.
The Japan Times Archives [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
An archive database of The Japan Times from March 1897 to December 2014. The Japan Times is an English daily newspaper from Japan formerly called The Japan Times and Mail (1918–1940),The Japan Times and Advertiser (1940–1943) , Nippon Times (1943–1956) , and The Japan Times from 1956. The contents is updated every summer. The latest contents are available from another database, The Japan Times Online.
The Japan Times Online [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
The web version of The Japan Times covers 1999 to present.
Maisaku 毎索 [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
毎日新聞 (Mainichi Shinbun - The oldest Japanese newspaper covering 1872 to present). The Mainichi (English newspaper archives covering June 2008 to present)
Access: Available to all Library users on-campus. Only one user at a time.
Nikkei Telecom 21 [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
Japanese news and business information, containing Nihon Keizai Shinbun 『日本経済新聞』 since 1876, company profiles and financial information, and personnel information. Nikkei English News and Nikkei Asian Review from Special Contents (スペシャルコンテンツ).
Full text database of Yomiuri Shinbun 『読売新聞』 from the first issue in November 1874 to the present, with local editions starting in Dec 1986. The database also includes the English edition, The Daily Yomiuri (Sep 1989 - present), and biographical information on some 2,000 people. Print available.
Access: Available to all Library users on-campus.
The Seoul Press Online [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
The Seoul Press (published 1907-1937) was Japan’s Korean news flagship. Its mission was to validate the natural justice of Japanese imperialism in Korea, and Japan as the redeeming, organising, and modernising force in East Asia. This English newspaper represented the Japanese administration of Korea to the world. The collection includes the years 1907-09 and 1928-37.
The Korea Times [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
The Korea Times is the oldest English daily newspaper published in South Korea which started in November 1950. This archival database provides all published contents including advertisements from 1956 to 2016.
Access: Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students, using their SOAS ID and password.
Newspaper database. A digital archive for Tonga ilbo [東亞日報] (1920 - 1999), Kyŏnghyang sinmun [京鄕新聞] (1946 - 1999) and Maeil kyŏngje sinmun [每日經濟新聞] (1966 - 1999). Advanced search allows you to filter results by choosing categories among eight subjects (e.g., politics, economy) and 25 document types (e.g., news articles, advertisements). Download/e-mail/print not available.
NK News [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
News website about North Korea.
NK News Pro [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
News and data analysis tools including the North Korea Leadership Tracker, the Ship Tracker, Leading Indicators and KCNA Watch (Rodong Sinmun, Pyongyang Times, Naenara News. Uriminzokkiri periodicals, and charts and data).
North China Herald [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
Full text version of the North China Herald from 1850-1940. Please, use either Firefox or Google Chrome web browser to access this resource.
Shen Bao (申報) [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
The most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China. It was established by British businessman Ernest Major in 1872 and lasted until 1949 when the Chinese Communist Government shut it down. As an important primary source for late imperial and modern China, Shen Bao underwent three reigns of Qing Dynasty, and witnessed many significant historical events, such as Sino-French War, Sino-Japanese War, Boxer Rebellion, and two World Wars. Known for its rich news reporting, commentary and advertisement, Shen Bao played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the late 19th century and Republic Era.
聯合新聞網 udn.com [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
Provides worldwide Chinese readers with online news ; Cover newspapers: United Daily News, Economic Daily News, Ming Shen Daily News, United Evening News, World Journal and Europe Journal, contents of partner magazines. Search tip: the best result is gained by searching with terms in traditional Chinese. All articles are available in PDF format so you will need Acrobat Reader version 5.X. Download, e-mail and print are available.
Access: Available to all Library users on-campus.
Southeast Asian Newspapers (East View Global Press Archive) [on/off campus]
The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.
South Asian Newspapers (East View Global Press Archive) [on/off campus]
The South Asian Newspapers collection chronicles these conflicts as well as contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and the extensive economic and social growth taking place in the region during this time. The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more
The Times of India (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
Provides access to first hand accounts of historical local, regional and national news in The Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839 - 59), the Bombay Times and Standard (1860 - 61), and The Times of India (1861 - 2020). Document type searches cover reviews, military war news, editorial cartoons, obituaries and marriage notices. Articles span historical key moments during India's rich and fascinating history, such as the partition of India, colonialism, post-colonialism, terrorism, gender issues and international relations. News stories that can be downloaded in PDF format capture wars, assassinations, industrial disasters and the creation of Bangladesh. There is also coverage of sports and cinema. Topics can be cross searched including images.
Also check out the LibGuides for China & Inner Asia, Japan, Korea, South Asia, and South East Asian Studies.
allAfrica.com [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
News archive containing over 900,000 articles from about 130 media organizations, AllAfrica.com’s own reporting team, NGOs, governments and international institutions. it covers news from 1996 to the present, and about 1000 articles are posted daily. The site is browsable by region/country and topic. The advanced search provides further options such as specifying time periods, publishers and categories. Available in French and English language versions.
Access: Available to all Library users on-campus. Off-campus access available to SOAS staff and students, using their SOAS ID and password.
Africa Confidential [On-campus use] / [Off-campus use]
Africa Confidential is one of the longest-established specialist publications on Africa, with a considerable reputation for being first with in-depth news and analysis on significant political, economic and security developments across the continent.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (East View Global Press Archive) [Off-campus use]
From the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have stood at the crossroads of history. The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
Also check out the Africa LibGuide.
Al-Ahram Digital Archive [On-campus use / Off-campus use]
The Al-Ahram digital archive provides a comprehensive collection of this 1875-founded Arabic newspaper, including such features as full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.
Mideastwire [On-campus use]
Mideastwire.com offers a daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs into English from the Arabic and Persian media, including the top newspapers, some satellite TV and radio. For off-campus access send an email from your SOAS email account to info@mideastwire.com
Also check out the Middle East and Central Asia Libguide.