Law

The SOAS Library’s collection of printed materials on Middle Eastern and Central Asian law is shelved on Level D. Classmarks begin with the letter ‘A’ and range from A345.6 to A345.9.

The Library has national responsibility to collect legal materials (law reports, legislation, official gazettes) for:

• Central Asia (vernacular language materials)
• Middle East (except Common & Civil jurisdictions)
• The Gulf States
• Yemen
• Israel (Hebrew material)

The following sites provide access to articles and guides on foreign, international and comparative law:

• Globalex

Databases

Brill Online
Access to reference works: Brill's New Pauly, Encyclopaedia of Islam, Encyclopaedia of Judaism, Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān; as well as Index Islamicus.

Lexis Middle East
Provides access in English and Arabic to the laws, and cases of the United Arab Emirates plus the legal news and commentaries of the wider Middle East.

LLMC Digital 

LLMC Digital is available via the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library by using your Senate House library membership details to login. For access use this link: https://catalogue.libraries.london.ac.uk/record=b2753718~S6. Note: LLMC has digitisations of the Law Reports of Palestine for 1919-47.

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS)
Bibliographic database, which provides access to a wide range of material relating to the study of the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa

Index Islamicus
Bibliographic database of books and journal articles published about Islam or the Muslim world since 1906.