Law

The SOAS Library’s collection of printed materials on Japanese & Korean law is shelved on Level D. Classmarks begin with the letter ‘A’ and fall within A345. Legal material can also be found within the Japanese & Korean section on Level C at Classmarks “CD” and “DK”.

There are various guides to researching Japanese and Korean law:

• Globalex

Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Index of Western language monographs, journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and anthologies on all parts of Asia published since 1971

A-Z Korean Language Databases
This lists all the Korean language databases SOAS has access to - many providing access to relevant secondary sources

A-Z Japanese Language Databases
This lists all the Japanese language databases SOAS has access to - many providing access to relevant secondary sources

Web Resources

AsianLII 
Contains selected decisions including cases from the Supreme Court of Japan and Supreme Court of Korea and texts to the Constitution and selected Laws of Japan and Korea.

WorldLII: Asia 
Provides links to free websites containing general legal information on Asia and for each country within the region

Asian Law Online
A free, online bibliographic database of books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses that relate to Asian legal systems. Produced by the Asian Law Centre, University of Melbourne 

Japanese Law and Government 
Contains links to Japanese legal resources maintained by the School of Law, Tohoku University in Japan.

Supreme Court of Japan
Provides access to decisions in English of the Supreme Court after 1947.

Supreme Court of Korea 
Provides access to selected judgments from the Supreme Court.

Democratic People’s Republic of Korea Law 
Provides the full text of unofficial English translations of selected legislation for North Korea