Skip to Main Content 
Libraries and archives nearby
- Anthropology Library at the British Museum The Anthropology Library at the British Museum is effectively the United Kingdom's national anthropological library, housing the library collections of the Royal Anthropological Institute [RAI] and the British Museum's Department of Africa, Oceania and the Americas [formerly the Department of Ethnography].
- Senate House Library [University of London] SOAS students have access to the 8 collaborating libraries, which contain a vast range of materials. They offer Arts, Humanities and Social Science Research Collections. Details of their Special Collections Reading Room ans use of their archives and manuscripts.
- Institute of Commonwealth Studies Part of the University of London, the Institute focuses on the recent history of Commonwealth countries and is a major resource for those working on the Commonwealth as a whole, or on any of its member states.
- LSE Library LSE holds vast Social Science collections, which include: Anthropology, Gender, Development, Social Psychology, Social Policy, and Sociology [Collection highlights]. Special collections include The Malinowski Archive and The Women's Library @ LSE. [Resources guides]
- UCL Library Collections supporting the College’s teaching and research programme in anthropology. [Subject guides]
- British Library The national library and manuscript collection of the U.K. Comprehensive collection of anthropological materials published in Britain and strong collections on the British Commonwealth.
- Wellcome Collection Library. Their collections cover thousands of years of health and medicine across different cultures.
