LibGuides: China & Inner Asia: Primary resources

Glenn Ratcliffe. SOAS Archive Open Day. SOAS Image Bank.

SOAS Archives and Special Collections

Our Archives and Special Collections, located on Level F, hold a wealth of materials from or related to China and Inner Asia. You can search the collections through our library catalogue, by checking the 'Archives' button:

There is also a dedicated catalogue for the archives and special collections, which you can freely search.

Once you have decided what you would like to view, you can contact the Special Collections team at special.collections@soas.ac.uk, giving details of the items you are interested in, and ask for an appointment.

Some items in the collections have been digitised, and can be viewed at SOAS Digital Collections.

Primary resource databases at SOAS Library

Area Studies: China and Southeast Asia This link opens in a new window
A varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society.
For off campus access click the link and choose the UK access management federation to log in
https://www.researchsource.amdigital.co.uk/ASChina
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
Based upon manuscript sources from SOAS Library Special Collections and and the British Library, this database provides access to a variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from 1793 to 1980.
For off-campus access use this link
https://idp.soas.ac.uk/shibboleth-idp/Authn/UserPassword
Dacheng Old Journal full-text database 大成老旧刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
A collection of 7,000 periodicals, 130,000 issues and 1.3 million articles, which were published from 1840 to 1949 in mainland China. Many of the periodicals are rare and unique during late Qing Dynas. Most journals may not have the complete run of issues. Subjects covered include philosophy, economic, politics, military, industry, agriculture, transportation, literature ,history, geography , astronomy and astrology.
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://laokan.dachengdata.com/
North China Herald This link opens in a new window
Full-text version of the North China Herald from 1850-1940. Please, use either Firefox or Google Chrome web browser to access this resource.
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://primarysources.brillonline.com/browse/north-china-herald-online
Primary Sources: Western Books on China This link opens in a new window
A collection of 654 digitised books based on the bibliography by John Lust of all early western books on China to be found in SOAS Library.
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://primarysources.brillonline.com/browse/western-books-on-china
Shen Bao (申報) This link opens in a new window
Shen Bao (申報), is the most influential and longest-lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China.
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://shunpao.egreenapple.com

China political reports, 1911-1960
This resource draws together the periodic political and intelligence reports sent by British officials based in China back to the British Foreign Office.
China political reports, 1961-1970
This resource draws together the periodic political and intelligence reports sent by British officials based in China back to the British Foreign Office.
SOAS Digital Collections
Thousands of digitised items from SOAS Library, Archives and Special Collections, including books, manuscripts, paintings, maps, posters, artefacts, and other ephemera.
Taiwan : political and economic reports, 1861-1960
These volumes provide an extensive and reliable research source for study of a 100-year period of Taiwanese history.

Open access primary resources

Chinese Foreign Policy Database
Curating thousands of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture. Free access.
Chinese Text Project 中國哲學書電子化計劃
The Chinese Text Project is an online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world. The site attempts to make use of the digital medium to explore new ways of interacting with these texts that are not possible in print. With over thirty thousand titles and more than five billion characters, the Chinese Text Project is also the largest database of pre-modern Chinese texts in existence.
International Dunhuang Project
An international collaborative effort to conserve, catalogue and digitise manuscripts, printed texts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from the Mogao caves at the Western Chinese city of Dunhuang and various other archaeological sites at the eastern end of the Silk Road.
The PRC State Council Archive
An official government portal which provides free access to the State Council Gazettes, laws and regulations, statistics, white papers, and ministry documents.
Sidney D. Gamble Photographs Collection
Over 5000 photos of China from the Gamble collection in the Duke University digital library, from the period of 1908-1932.