LibGuides: China & Inner Asia: Theses and dissertations

Theses and dissertations in SOAS Library

Print copies of our doctoral (PhD) theses are held in Closed Access on Level F and offsite. Please note that we do not hold Masters dissertations in the library. Please consult with your department for access to previous Masters dissertations.

You can search our doctoral theses on the library catalogue, by filtering search results by 'Theses' on the left-hand column:

Most of our theses have also been digitised, and are available through SOAS Research Online and British Library EThOS.

Theses and dissertation databases

China Doctoral/Masters Dissertations (CDMD) 中国博士/ 硕士学位论文全文数据库
Masters theses (1999-2012) and doctoral dissertations (2000-2012). Access is limited to 3 external users at a time using a particular computer in the library premises. SOAS students and staff only from computers off-campus. Access limited to 3 users at a time.
For off-campus access use this link
https://fsso.oversea.cnki.net/login_en.aspx?lang=en-US
Chinese Theses and Dissertations Services (Taiwan) 中文電子學位論文服務
Consists of theses and dissertations information from Taiwan higher education institutions after 2004. At present, this database contains theses and dissertations mainly from Taiwan universities, including National Taiwan University, National Taipei University of Technology, Taipei National University of the Arts, National Tsing Hua University and National Taiwan Normal University, with over 27,000 bibliographic citations and 16,500 theses in full text. Subject coverage includes humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, applied sciences, medicine and life sciences. The best result is gained by searching with terms in traditional Chinese. All articles are available in PDF format so you will need Acrobat Reader version 5.X
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.airitilibrary.com

SOAS Research Online
A free database of the latest research by SOAS academics andPhD students.

Open access databases

The following are some free e-resources for Chinese-language or Chinese-related theses and dissertations. Please note that full text is not always available.

British Library EThOS
Includes electronic copies of 500,000 doctoral theses from across the UK. Most theses are open access, although some are not - some may only be available via the host institution. Free registration is required.
HKU Scholars Hub - Theses
The HKU Scholars Hub is the current research information system of The University of Hong Kong. As a key vehicle of HKU's Knowledge Exchange Initiative, The Hub aims to enhance the visibility of HKU authors and their research, and to foster opportunities for collaboration.
International Chinese Studies Doctoral Dissertation Abstracts Database 典藏國際漢學博士論文摘要資料庫
The Center for Chinese Studies, National Central Library (Taiwan) collects information on and indexes North American and European dissertations relating to Sinology. It has indexed and created abstracts for 9,000 dissertations.
MALA Dissertations & Theses Collections 澳門高校圖書館聯盟 - 博碩士論文庫
Search for theses and dissertations from academic institutions across Macau.
National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan 臺灣博碩士論文知識加值系統
Taiwanese dissertations and theses from 1959. Includes a mixture of citations, abstracts, and some full text documents.
National Library of China Dissertations Database 中国国家图书馆博士论文
A searchable database of dissertations and theses from major Chinese universities. The first 24 pages of each document is available to read online.