ONLINE DICTIONARIES
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online: Arabic-English, English-Arabic
Currently featuring over 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations from the Oxford Arabic Dictionary, plus extra tools and resources such as tables of Arabic verb conjugations, full forms of Arabic numbers, dates, and years. Vowels in all Arabic text help non-Arabic speakers in pronunciation and comprehension.
This up-to-date resource has been designed for both Arabic and English native speakers and includes the latest vocabulary from computing, business, the media, and the arts, across both languages.
[On-campus] / [Off-campus]
Edward William Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon (Dictionary) Downloadable in PDF Format for free.
Sakhr English-Arabic Dictionary
Sakhr Arabic- English Dictionary
Al-Buraq Arabic – English Dictionary [https://www.alburaq.net/]
A dictionary of modern written Arabic / Hans Wehr (1961)
A staple dictionary, not the most recent edition but it is fully searchable, which makes it very useful.
Etymological Dictionary of Arabic (EtymArab)
The University of Oslo developed this etymologico-conceptual dictionary of the Arabic language, covering roots and terms of particular significance for the mental and cultural history of the Arabs.
LEARNING METHODS
Handbook for Students of Arabic
This online handbook is an introduction to strategies and resources that can help students in their study of the Arabic language. It has been developed under the auspices of the National Middle East Language Resource Center (NMELRC)
Arabic Gateway
Introductory material for learning Arabic.
Arabistan
Web resources for learning materials in Arabic.
LookLex Arabic Course
Free online Arabic course teaching basic sentences, how to write, count and introduces to grammar.
Arabic Without Walls
Arabic 1AW or "Arabic Without Walls," is a first-year Arabic instruction in a distance-learning format taught through UC Berkeley. It is based on the textbook Al-Kitaab fii Ta`alum al-Arabiyya (Brustad et al., 2nd ed., Georgetown University Press, 2004).
Arabic language
This online free encyclopaedia is a source of very good articles. This article gives an interesting family tree of dialects and a brief table of their phonological variations.
A collection of topical news stories (updated weekly) from Arabic newspapers, with parallel English translations and recordings by native Arabic speakers. Users can click on any word to hear it read aloud and see the translation highlighted or they can play the whole recording to hear it read at natural speed.
LINGUISTIC CORPORA
The Quranic Arabic Corpus
This is an annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology.
This website, created and maintained by an academic linguist Dr Ayman Eddakrouri, is designed as a directory to Arabic linguistic corpora. Three mains sections are available:
1. Arabic corpora: Web-based (Searchable) corpora and Textual corpora (Text Files)
2. Centers/Institutions.
3. Software/Tools.