News Sources
News databases are available at SOAS. You can access newspapers, news wires and news transcripts from around the world.
World-wide newspapers 1996- (including UK) on Access World News
UK Newspapers on Lexis Library
Times of India Digital Archive provides access to local, regional and national news for publication in India from 1838-2003. It is a good place to look for historical events.
North China Herald is the prime printed source for the history of the foregn presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940.
Kikuzō II Visual 聞蔵IIビジュアル [朝日新聞オンライン記事データベース] A newspaper database for Asahi Shinbun, containing the national edition and local editions.
Naver News Library [Naver 뉴스 라이브러리] Provided by the powerful portal site Naver, it is a digital archive for popular newspapers from Korea between 1920 and 1999.
Mideastwire.com offers a daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs into English from the Arabic and Persian media.
You will find more databases at A-Z List of Electronic databases. For off-campus use, log in via the A-Z electronic databases. You will be asked to insert ID & Password.
Beyond SOAS Library: databases
Senate House Library
SOAS students and staff are entitled to apply to Senate House Library for membership, on production of valid SOAS ID. The membership also will give off-site access to some electronic databases including databases below.
British Cartoon archives
Film & TV Database
International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text
Newsfilm Online