About SOAS Library

SOAS Library welcomes donations of published material following the guidance below. For donations of archives and manuscripts, please contact Special Collections if you would like to discuss an offer.
 

1. The Library welcomes donations on Africa, Asia and the Middle East and other relevant subject material
2. Potential donors should contact the Library Enquiry Desk. Donors should provide as much detail as possible in describing the material they wish to offer. SOAS Library can accept donations only by prior arrangement. 
3. Please can the proposed donated material be described, ideally in a spreadsheet listing author(s), title, year of publication when contacting the library to propose a donation
4. If the library accepts a donation, donors will be required to complete and sign the Library Donation Form (found on the left hand side of this page) and include it with the donation
5. In considering donations the Library will take into account its Collection Development Policy, online availability and the availability of the material in other London locations
6. In considering donations the Library will also take into account the space (shelf) requirements demanded by the donation and future maintenance requirements
7. The Library will not accept donations of material which it already holds, except:
   ○ to replace existing copies
   ○ to support current high demand, i.e. for teaching
8. Donors should be aware that the Library reserves the right to dispose of donations as it sees fit, by sale, gift or by discarding it at some future point
9. The Library cannot accept material with caveats or restrictive conditions
10. Donated material will become the sole property of the Library
11. Donated material placed in the Library will be available to all Library users
12. The Library houses rare and/or valuable items in purpose-built accommodation compliant with BS 4971:2017 and EN 16893:2018
13. Donors should inform the Library if they require an acknowledgement for their donation
14. Bequests will be treated as gifts unless prior arrangements have been made
15. By vesting material in the Library the donor will be deemed to have accepted the conditions of the Donations Policy
16. SOAS Library can accept donations only by prior 
17. Further parameters apply to donations of archival and special collections. If you wish to donate archives or manuscripts you may fill the donation form or contact Special.Collections@soas.ac.uk
    
    Find out more about SOAS Special Collections here: Special Collections | SOAS