In this page you will learn more about:
SOAS Library is based in Bloomsbury, Central London. You will be able to find nearby many other libraries with collections that may be of interest for your research or studies. Some of the most important Middle Eastern and Central Asian collections are in London and the wider UK.
In this page, you can find more information about the specific areas of specialisation of each library in the Directory of Middle East and North Africa Collections, below. If you are working with Jewish and Hebrew library resources, the AJL map can be of interest for you.
You can learn how to explore library Middle East collections in the page Searching and Discovering resources.
If you are a SOAS student or member of staff you may be eligible to a range of schemes and can benefit from various agreements with other academic libraries. You can find more information about these in the sections Senate House Library, British Library, SCONUL membership, and Other Libraries.
FREE ACCESS TO OTHER LIBRARIES
SOAS students are eligible to free membership in a large number of libraries in London and the rest of the UK, where they can find additional resources to advance their studies and research, and prepare their dissertations. Membership application procedures may vary from library to library. Similarly, borrowing and other rights are different in each case, depending of your student status, level of study, and internal regulations of each institutions. These may change over time. Applicants are strongly encouraged to check details before starting the application and to contact the libraries if any point requires clarification.
BRITISH LIBRARY
Any member of the public is entitled to obtain a Reader Pass to the British Library. You will need to register online and bring certain documentation to the British Library premises. You can find more information about the process in this page.
When you plan your visit, do not miss the British Library Subject Guides and Collection Guides, which can help you get an idea of the resources you will find at this institution. These include important resources from and about the Middle East and Central Asia, among others.
Once you have your Reader Pass, you can make use of their resources and services, of which you can read more in this page.
SENATE HOUSE LIBRARY
Situated within the University of London's Senate House in the same campus as SOAS, the SHL has a collection of print and electronic material with a focus on the Humanities.
SOAS staff and students are eligible for free membership to the SHL. You can apply here.
This membership will normally allow the use of the studying spaces and services, borrowing loanable items from their collection and use of databases and electronic resources.
SCONUL SCHEME
SOAS is part of the SCONUL scheme. SCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to use study spaces or books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. Some library users may be able to borrow print books from other libraries too. You can find more information about the scheme and your status eligibility here and here.
You can apply by filling this form.
MIDDLE EAST COLLECTIONS IN OTHER LIBRARIES
MELCOM UK DIRECTORY OF MENA COLLECTIONS
There are important collections of Middle Eastern and North African resources in London and the UK that can help you in your studies and research. Some traditional areas of specialisation are (as compiled by Netton, 1998):
Professor Ian Richard Netton's guide is a helpful source for knowing more about more than 100 other Middle East library collections in the UK and Ireland:
Middle East Sources by JEWISH AND HEBREW COLLECTIONS MAP
The Association of Jewish Libraries curates this interactive map, which will show details about both well-known and lesser-known Judaica in international collections. The collections are categorised by colour:
https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:The_British_Library_-_geograph.org.uk_-_2786739.jpg