LibGuides: History: About the collection

Print collections

The Library has important collections on the histories of the regions and individual countries of Asia, Oceania, the Middle East and Africa. It also holds a large collection of thematic, interdisciplinary and cross-cultural histories, and works on historiography, historical research methods and the philosophy of history.

Material on the history of the United Kingdom, Europe and America, and broader world history are only collected where they support undergraduate teaching.

For the history of regions and individual countries, also consult regional pages.
For the history of the ancient Near Eastern world, also consult Ancient and Near East Subject Guide.
For art, art history and archaeology, also consult Art and Archeology Subject Guide
For the history of religions, also consult Religions Subject Guide
For legal and constitutional history, also consult Law Subject Guide

Classmarks and location

Books on interdisciplinary topics or covering more than one country or region are shelved in the Social Sciences and Humanities Collection on Level E (classmark A). Books on regional histories are shelved in the regional collections.

For a full listing of classmarks and their location, please consult the location list

Journals

The Library has an extensive collection of journals in both print and electronic formats. For more information, check

Reference collection

The reference collections (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, bibliographies, directories etc.) are shelved in separate sequences. Check the location list for details.