Skip to Main Content

South Asia

Databases

SOAS Library provides access to many databases which support research into South Asia.

SOAS students and staff may cross-search a range of South Asia-related databases via EBSCO Discovery.

Below is a list of our major databases available for South Asia. Most databases can be accessed by all Library users on-campus. For a full list of our databases please see A-Z list databases.

Databases available at SOAS:
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
    An index of Western language monographs, journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies and Festschriften on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Links to full-text are available via SFX.
    On campus use / Off campus use
     
  • Critical Collective
    It is a digital archive as well as an art magazine dedicated to build knowledge in the visual arts in India and South Asia.
    On campus use
     
  • JSTOR - Asian Studies
    Includes Economic and Political Weekly, India International Centre Quarterly, Journal of Hindu Studies, Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society, Journal of the American Oriental Society, Modern Asian Studies, Pakistan Economic and Social Review. SOAS Alumni can also register for off-campus access via the Alumni website
    On campus use / Off campus use
     
  • Pakistan LawSite

An online database of Pakistani legislation from PLD Publishers, Lahore. It presents statutes, rules and cases relating to Pakistan, both federal and provincial. For off-site user id and password contact the Law Librarian, im31@soas.ac.uk (available to current SOAS staff and students only).

On campus site

  • Proquest -The Times of India (1838-2003)
    Provides access to historical local, regional and national news for publications including The Bombay Times, Journal of Commerce and the Bombay Times and Standard. Easily searchable, spanning centuries of historical and political events.
    On campus use / Off campus use
     
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies

This is an index of Western language monographs, journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings on all parts of Asia from Afghanistan to the Russian Far East.
On-campus use / Off-campus use

It is a database covering 30,000 journals, with bibliographic information and abstracts in broad subjects.

On-campus use / Off-campus use

This is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals including peer-reviewed academic journals and magazine style journals.  
On-campus use]/ Off-campus use

This is a very powerful database which indexes a wide range of journals in various disciplines.  You can access the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It is a particularly useful database if you are looking for specific authors and their citation records.
On-campus use / Off-campus use

US theses and dissertations database with millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present day. Over million full text dissertations are available for download in PDF format. 
On-campus use / Off-campus use

The database provides access to over 200 journals, with bibliographic information and abstracts. Full text is available for humanities.
On-campus use / Off-campus use

  • Bridgeman education is an online educational image resource. It includes over 650,000 copyright cleared images sourced from the world’s major museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections; providing access to the visual culture of every civilization from prehistory to the present day. Images can be downloaded to your computer or you can save them as slideshow online.  The license covers for all educational non-commercial use of images only.

On-campus use / Off-campus use