IALS library
The IALS Library is a national and international resource for legal research and houses over 285,000 volumes. Its primary function is to serve the UK national legal academic research community. The collections of foreign and international law are the most extensive in the UK and contain much unique material, although you will find that SOAS Library holds more legal material on most African & Asian jurisdictions. Staff and students who register as users of IALS will also have access to a number of additional law databases and e-journals not available directly via SOAS.
University of London libraries
As a member of the University of London through SOAS, students and staff are entitled to use other libraries in the consortium. See the below library pages for some of the other universities in the group (NB the asterisks indicate libraries with access to OUP LawTrove):
SOAS students and staff are also entitled to apply to Senate House Library for membership, on production of valid SOAS ID. The membership also will give off-site access to some electronic databases including databases.
Inns of Court Libraries
For admission to the libraries of the Inns of Court, go to an Inn's website and you'll find application forms for students and graduates wishing to join. You can also make appointments to visit them.
The Inns of Court Libraries take part in inter-library loans.
Links to the Inns and their collection strengths:
SCONUL scheme
Several other nearby libraries have collections that may be of use. Through the SCONUL scheme, students and staff of academic libraries in the UK may visit other university libraries who are part of the scheme.
Apply for access via SCONUL here.
Your acceptance in the SCONUL scheme can then be used to visit other academic libraries. Please make sure to check the terms and conditions and additional entry requirements for other libraries before visiting.
British Library
Free to join but you need to register. You cannot borrow but material can be requested to consult in the reading rooms. You can use the study spaces. The BL also holds extensive archives, including some law related materials.
Note: the BL is recovering from the 2023 cyber attack, so not all material is currently available.
National Archives
Free to use. It's recommended to book a visit and order documents in advance. The National Archives have legal materials, including very old law reports from the Early Modern period. More information.
Try searching other libraries’ holdings using Library Hub Discover (Academic and Specialist Libraries in the UK).