Law

The Library develops and maintains significant legal collections on the countries of Asia, Africa and the Middle East (excluding the Roman-Dutch jurisdictions). The material is in European, Asian and African languages and includes current legislation, law reports, official gazettes and monographs. Material on jurisdictions outside Asia and Africa and general legal works are acquired where they are needed to support teaching. 

Location

The law collection can be found on Level D between stacks Stacks 77-116. Classmarks range between A340-A349 (oversized books are shelved at the end of the collection at LA340-LA349) 

Law in Japanese and Korean languages are located in the country or regional collections on Level C. 

Journals, Law Reports and Legislation

The Library has an extensive collection of journals in both print and electronic format, as well as various law reports and legislation for African, Asian and Middle Eastern countries. Check the Library catalogue using the title of the series and the A - Z Database section for more information.

Collection Strengths

The Library collects Asian, African and Middle Eastern (vernacular) jurisdictions, particularly those deriving from systems other than common law. The collection is particularly strong on Chinese law, Islamic law and South Asian law. 

The Library has national responsibility to collect primary legal materials (law reports, legislation, official gazettes) for specific regions and countries (request the Collection Development Policy for more information).

See the guide for information on material held in the Archives & Special Collections

We welcome suggestions for new purchases from Library members. Please complete the recommendation form.