Skip to Main Content

Linguistics & Languages

Welcome to the library guide for studies in Linguistics and Languages!

SOAS-Subscribed Databases 

SOAS Library provides access to many e-resource databases which support research into linguistics and languages. Our E-resources guide contains information about these and all the necessary links for access.

Below is a list of our major databases available for linguistics and languages. Most databases can be accessed by all Library users on-campus. For a full list of our databases please see A-Z list databases.

Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA) [On-campus use ; Off-campus use]
Index covering the latest developments in the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Translation Studies Bibliography [On-campus use ; Off-campus use]
Access to bibliographic database providing descriptive, non-evaluative abstracts for almost all relevant publications in the field of Translation and Interpreting Studies.

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics [On-campus use ; Off-campus use]
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online (EALL Online) comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online: Arabic-English, English-Arabic [On-campus use ; Off-campus use]
Currently featuring over 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations from the Oxford Arabic Dictionary, plus extra tools and resources such as tables of Arabic verb conjugations, full forms of Arabic numbers, dates, and years. Vowels in all Arabic text help non-Arabic speakers in pronunciation and comprehension. This up-to-date resource has been designed for both Arabic and English native speakers and includes the latest vocabulary from computing, business, the media, and the arts, across both languages.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online: Chinese-English; English-Chinese [On-campus use ; Off-campus use]
Currently featuring over 220,000 words, phrases, and translations from the Pocket Oxford Chinese Dictionary (Third edition), plus tools and resources.

 

Beyond SOAS Library: Databases

  • Anthropological Index Online [Open access resource]
    Useful for Anthropological Linguistics.
    This is an index to articles in journals taken by the Anthropology Library at the British Museum and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. Nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present. It is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute in cooperation with Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum
  • Senate House Library
    SOAS students and staff are entitled to apply to Senate House Library for membership , on production of valid SOAS ID. The membership also will give off-site access to some electronic databases.

  • Other Libraries
    Several other nearby libraries have databases that may be of use to students of Linguistics and Languages. Access is limited to on-site only and conditions of use vary.  You are advised to check these before visiting.