Skip to Main Content

Korean Studies

Welcome to the Korean Studies research guide

Korean Studies E-resources

Title Description Links
DBpia
 Korean language database of 1,200 scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects including humanities, social sciences, and engineering. Dates cover First issue to the most recent issue. First issue to the most recent issue.  On-campus use

Off-campus use
KISS [Korean-studies Information Service System]
 Contains scholarly articles mainly in Korean, published in some 3,500 journals from 1,200 research institutions in Korea. Covers all subjects in social sciences, humanities and natural sciences.  On-campus use

Off-campus use
Koreascholar
코리아 스콜라
 Full-text database of academic journals published in South Korea.  On-campus use

Off-campus use
Korea: political & economic reports, 1882-1970
 This comprehensive collection of facsimile documents contains all available diplomatic reports regarding Korea that are housed in the British National Archives from 1882 to 1970. The collection begins with the Korean monarchy, and includes the Japanese occupation, the post-1945 division of the peninsular into North and South Korea, the outbreak of the Korean War. The resulting 10,000 pages is an important piece of research which provides international relations between Russia, China, Japan, the Soviet Union and the USA in the twentieth century.  On-campus use

Off-campus use
KRpia
 Korean language e-book database including reference resources (encyclopaedias, dictionaries, guidebooks, and bibliographies).  On-campus use

Off-campus use
MBC Archives

MBC (Munhwa Broadcasting Corporation) is one of the leading South Korean television and radio broadcasting stations. MBC Archive is an online service where users can access over 200,000 selected multimedia items consisting of TV & Radio programmes including daily news, entertainment shows, documentaries that were produced by MBC since its foundation in 1961.

 On-campus use
Off-campus use
Naver News Library
Naver 뉴스 라이브러리
 Newspaper database. A digital archive for Tonga ilbo[東亞日報], Kyŏnghyang sinmun  [京鄕新聞] and Maeil kyŏngje sinmun [每日經濟新聞].   On-campus use

Off-campus use
NK News
 News website about North Korea.  On-campus use

Off-campus use
NK News Pro
 News and data analysis tools including the North Korea Leadership Tracker, the Ship Tracker, Leading Indicators and KCNA Watch (Rodong Sinmun, Pyongyang Times, Naenara News. Uriminzokkiri periodicals, and charts and data).  On-campus use

Off-campus use
RISS International (KERIS)
 Offers a single search of KERIS Union Catalogue, Korean journal articles, and theses and dissertations. Covers full range of disciplines. Contains non-Korean articles. Can be used as a platform for DBpia, KISS, Korea Scholar, and Kyobo Scholar.  On-campus use

Off-campus use
Scholar 스콜라
 Full-text database of academic journals published in South Korea.   On-campus use

Off-campus use
The Seoul Press Online
 The Seoul Press (published 1907-1937) was Japan’s Korean news flagship. Its mission was to validate the natural justice of Japanese imperialism in Korea, and Japan as the redeeming, organising, and modernising force in East Asia. This English newspaper represented the Japanese administration of Korea to the world. The collection includes the years 1907-09 and 1928-37.   On-campus use

Off-campus use
SOAS-Kyobo Ebook

Korean Language Ebook portal for SOAS current students and academic staff. SOAS students and academics must use their SOAS email to sign up to use Kyobo ebook site via this link   

For more detailed information, please check the guidance via this link 

 On-campus use
 

 

SOAS Library would like to extend gratitude to the Korea Foundation for on-going support.
The Korea Foundation support for the Korean Studies e-Resources programme has allowed SOAS Library to maintain and develop Korea language e-resources.
The SOAS Library received the Korean Foundation grant to support the Korean Studies e-Resources in 2022. This grant directly supported the subscription of DBpia and KISS in 2022. The Library will receive the KF grant for the Korean Studies e-Resources in 2023.
 

 

National Library of Korea Digitized Materials

The National Library of Korea provides digitization services for some of the materials held in their library. SOAS Library has a partnership agreement. Over 8 million NLK Digitized materials are now accessible via 4 designated PCs within SOAS Library. The materials include old and rare documents, official gazettes (1894-1945), journals, newspapers, music scores, textbooks and academic books.

If you would like to access them, please visit the Library Enquiry Desk or contact ms218@soas.ac.uk directly. Please note that this resource is not available to external users.