Oxford’s Very Short Introductions (VSI) series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop a reader’s core knowledge. SOAS library collection holds 554 titles in this series.
This is the link to A Very short introduction podcast
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3MAPgqN8JWhDt2ok5zoOotd7t9xUjccO
For off-campus access use this link
https://academic.oup.com/very-short-introductions
Access to 1000s of academic journals, as well as 12,000+ e-books from leading publishers such as Princeton University Press, Yale University Press, MIT Press, and Harvard University Press.
For off-campus access use this link
https://shibbolethsp.jstor.org/start?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fidp.soas.ac.uk%2Fentity&site=jstor&dest=%2F
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Oxford’s Very Short Introductions (VSI) series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop a reader’s core knowledge. SOAS library collection holds 554 titles in this series.
This is the link to A Very short introduction podcast
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3MAPgqN8JWhDt2ok5zoOotd7t9xUjccO
For off-campus access use this link
https://academic.oup.com/very-short-introductions
A project to digitize, disseminate, and discover African cultural materials. Its aim is to enable Africa easily to control, digitize, and disseminate its archival riches—those within Africa and items residing internationally. Africa Commons helps to preserve African content and enable African scholars easily to find and access expressions of their heritage in Western collections. The collections includes:
Africa Commons: History and Culture - An index, search engine and preservation tool for more than 500,000 openly available books, magazines and other primary sources. Black South African Magazines - Digital collection of magazines created for Black audiences in Africa from 1937-1973.
Southern African Films and Documentaries - Hundreds of African documentaries, oral histories and other films for study and learning.
The trial is available until 30 April 2025
Any feedback please send to Dawn Wright via dw3@soas.ac.uk
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://africacommons.net/
The Africa Report is one of the leading news organisations on the continent. We are known for our impartial, authoritative stance. The Africa Report is published by Jeune Afrique Media Group (JAMG), the premier publishing and events company in Africa
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.theafricareport.com
China on Film features an exciting selection of documentary and actuality film footage from the British Film Institute, filmed through the eyes of predominantly Western travellers. Through a combination of amateur films, travelogues and newsreels, this resource provides a unique perspective on both everyday life and some of the key events of modern Chinese history.
This trial is available until 20 May 2025
Please send any feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk)
Hindi Cinema offers a unique insight into the film industry from the years 1950-2010 through the experiences of leading film-makers.
Trial available until 20 May 2025
Please send feedback to Farzana Qureshi (fq@soas.ac.uk)
Jeune Afrique was founded in 1960 in Tunis and subsequently published in Paris by Jeune Afrique Media Group. It is the most widely read Pan-African magazine offering coverage of African political, economic and cultural news.
For off-campus access use this link
https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.jeuneafrique.com
The world's most comprehensive policy database, with over 17 million reports from 41,000 think tanks, agencies, governments, and cities. The database includes:
Global Think Tanks
North American City Reports
Public Health and Social Care
World Cities
World Governments
The trial is available until 30 April 2025
Any feedback please send to Dawn Wright via dw3@soas.ac.uk
For off-campus access use this link https://soas.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://policycommons.net/
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
This trial is available until 20 May 2025
Please send feedback to Anthony Ho (ah145@soas.ac.uk) and Jotika Khur-Yearn
(jk53@soas.ac.uk)
